AHQ: You’ve got mail

In my last post, I wrote about making something for a young servicewoman who had no family to send her mail while she was on active duty.

Someone else is kindly making her a quilt, and today I mailed her a box of appreciation: this laundry bag in her favourite colours with her initials on it, and some tasty snacks to relieve the monotony of shipboard meals. I’m told the food’s actually pretty good, but you don’t have access to a lot of snacky stuff, so that’s what she’s getting… So now she’s getting at least two parcels from ‘home’ while she’s on operations. Which is good.

Screen shot 2014-09-15 at 1.10.02 PMI have one more small sewing job to do, and then with much reluctance I have to finish packing up my sewing room. I just know there’ll be something I urgently want to do or fix or mend the minute I’ve taken all the boxes to the storage unit. Too bad…

More soon.

15 thoughts on “AHQ: You’ve got mail

  1. You have to store stuff for a while? Is that to allow space for the renos?

    • katechiconi says:

      More a case of waiting to decide where things go! Also, as the Husband is working, a lot of the packing falls to me, so I’m gradually emptying the place room by room, and putting stuff in storage means we don’t fall over boxes everywhere. The sewing room gets packed up at the end of today – I still have one small job to do, and then it can go. Luckily there’s a portable embroidery project to stop me going bonkers…

  2. tialys says:

    That laundry bag will definitely make her day when she gets it – and snacks too!!
    Bon courage with the continuing packing.

  3. what a lovely and thoughtful gift, she’ll be thrilled. Good luck with the packing – soon be over 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Ack! Not if the people selling to us have their way, they keep asking for extensions to their moving out date… I’ll be very bored of living surrounded by boxes by the time we get in there!

  4. Kim says:

    Beautiful bag. Did you line it as well? I have been asked to do something similar so am curious. I like how you did the initials. keep some pretty fabric out to pet just for those boxy moments. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, it’s lined as well. The channel at the top is made of denim because you need something really strong to take the cord. You basically cut two outer pieces 22×32 inches, and the same from the lining, the top channel is 4×40 inches. If you add initials do it before you sew everything together. I used fusible to stick the letters down and then machine blanket stitch around the outside. Double stitch the seams at the bottom and where you join the cord channel to make it more durable. I might keep some small scraps out to make something weeny by hand, I’ve been thinking I should just keep back some 2.5 inch squares and some hexies and do a whole load of those…

  5. Kirsten says:

    She’ll get a lot of laundry in that! Because I am a nosey parker, I am interested in what snacks you sent her . . . !

    • katechiconi says:

      OK, she got Vegemite Dippers, Tiny Teddy biscuits, Sour Snakes, hot chocolate sachets, Pumpkin and Laksa cuppasoups, and fruit flavour Lifesavers… And yes, the bag is designed for a full load of uniform!

  6. lovely colours for the bag !

  7. wombatquilts says:

    You rock. Just saying.

Leave a Reply

