Baking up a storm

The GF Bakery is getting more orders. Someone (or several someones!) out there likes my cooking.

On delivery this week, we have:

  • Gingerbread and date loaf
  • Chocolate fudge brownies
  • Carrot cake with lemon frosting
  • Lemon cheesecake
  • Ham & egg cups
  • Caramelised onion & cheese tarts
Screen shot 2014-09-02 at 5.56.11 PM

Do admire the broad expanse of my work area, snugged in between the microwave and the coffee machine… Bring on the new kitchen and my 3 metre dining table right there for putting things down on.

If anyone wants recipes, you have only to ask, I’m delighted to share.

I tend to quickly put together the things I can make easily and quickly, and then concentrate on the things that need more attention. I also make the things that need the same oven temperature at the same time. I must say, it will be very nice to have a large oven soon, because then I won’t need to waste time swapping thing around and turning them so they cook evenly. It will also be lovely to have a large table to put cooling racks and storage boxes on, so I don’t have to wait until the first couple of things are cool and I can put them in their box before I have space to move onto the next job!

I don’t think this is ever going to turn into a major money-maker, but I enjoy baking, it keeps me busy and out of trouble, and I like being able to provide GF goodies for other people like myself, who have difficulty finding something nice for lunch or to eat with their morning coffee.

I must go and think of a few more ideas to suggest – they’ve already ordered pretty much everything I’ve suggested so far!

 

13 thoughts on “Baking up a storm

  1. tialys says:

    Like you need something to keep you busy at the moment!! All your bakes sound delicious – must be a treat for somebody who is gluten intolerant to have found your wares.

  2. GF gluten free? I’d be interested in your recipe for chocolate and fudge brownies, if you truly don’t mind sharing. I have one or two coeliac friends and they’ve had everything on my repertoire!

    Your current kitchen is cosy, and must restrict your outpt. I hope you will be very happy with the new one, able to spread your wings.

  3. rutigt says:

    Today I baked two big bread and that´s enough for me 🙂 You must really have a lot of energy! Good for you!
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      I love to bake, and even more when I get paid for it! Also, I think it’s important to provide something nice for people with coeliac disease – most of the commercial stuff is pretty horrible.

  4. What joy it will be to have space…
    We have a coelic friend who loves cake… I must ask him what he would especially like and see if you have a recipe!

  5. Kirsten says:

    At least you only have to make one of everything. At the moment at least!

  6. knettycraft says:

    All of your recipes sounds very delicious… and all that you do while preparing your moving to another house… wow!

    • katechiconi says:

      … and while I’m doing embroidery and hand quilting my latest patchwork quilt. What can I say? I like to cook, and I like to sew. I don’t like to pack boxes quite so much, but it has to be done, and I’m doing it slowly but steadily. Thank you for visiting Chiconia!

Leave a Reply

