Stitch Along 3: The Wedding Sampler, finally finished

It’s embarrassing to realise that we’ve been married 17 months yesterday, and I wanted to have this wedding sampler ready for our first anniversary. Only 5 months late, then…

Screen shot 2014-08-10 at 5.14.57 PM

Last time

Screen shot 2014-08-30 at 3.00.50 PM

The finished thing

But it’s done. At last.

The plan is to have it framed with a pale grey mat and a brushed silver frame. And then it can hang there and look pretty instead of faintly reproachful.

Next time I’ll have a new counted cross stitch project on the go. It’s in black and white and grey, a photographic portrait of the Husband of Chiconia which I took myself and converted into a cross stitch pattern. I don’t know whether I’ll be able to join the next SAL, or whether all my sewing things will be lost in a welter of cardboard boxes, packing tape and deep confusion. I need something to do with my hands in the evenings, so maybe it’ll survive the mayhem!

Linking up with:

Avis:  http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Gun:  http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Claire:  http://claire93.wordpress.com

and Jule:  http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Do hop over and see what they’re working on.

21 thoughts on “Stitch Along 3: The Wedding Sampler, finally finished

  1. claire93 says:

    you’ve finished seven months early for your 2nd wedding anniversary ^^

  2. You did it! It looks lovely and if you hadn’t joined in, it would still be sitting in a drawer unfinished. There’s no need to post every three weeks if you are busy. Just jump on board whenever we all post, at whatever interval you choose. Enjoy the cardboard boxes!

    • katechiconi says:

      Every three weeks is about right, and I do need something to do in the evenings to slow the pace down and take a break from the boxes. I’ve got everything ready for the next project, so next time I’ll be starting to show work on the HoC portrait!

  3. Kim says:

    So, so pretty and elegant. Just looking at it makes me want a cup of tea in a china cup with saucer, you know, because it’s so refined. 😉 Now, it’s not hanging over you while you pack.

    • katechiconi says:

      Very true! The only place it’ll be hanging is on the wall! Thank you so much for your kind comment. I hope you like the next piece of work too; it’s very different.

  4. tialys says:

    It’s beautiful! I was a year late with my daughter’s 18th birthday quilt so don’t feel too bad.

  5. rutigt says:

    Love it!!!
    Gun, Sweden

  6. I agree with Claire – not 5 months late but 7 months early. You are still newlyweds in my book! Importantly, it is ready to hang in the new house.

  7. Carole says:

    It looks so pretty. Hope you’ll be posting a photo once it’s framed 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I think I’ll sneak one in together with WIP on the next SAL project. It was fun to do, but I’m happy to be moving on to the next thing – all that counting was driving me nuts!

  8. Elizabeth says:

    congrats! It’s beautiful! I hope you will post a picture of it when you mat and frame it. Well done!

  9. Oh Kate, what a treasure. Thanks for sending me the link. And it seems you were moving when you wrote this post. Did your wedding sampler make it into a silver frame for your new home?

Leave a Reply

