AHQ: Objective achieved

The rush job is done.

It’s a simple quilt – I didn’t have time for anything fancy, but I believe it will suit the requirements of a young man who likes Manchester United! The whole thing was completely unplanned and I just added strips and bits as I went. And for the back I thought I couldn’t go wrong with red, white and blue… The quilting is somewhat wonky and I haven’t been particularly anal about lining things up, but I doubt its recipient is a member of the quilt police!  It’s colourful, it’s warm, it’s the right size and it has the right team logo on it!

Screen shot 2014-08-21 at 1.56.51 PMScreen shot 2014-08-21 at 1.57.15 PMAHQ posted a blog about ensuring that all red quilts were pre-washed before being sent out. So this one’s been thoroughly tubbed and dried with colour catchers, and I’m sending the AB three colour catcher sheets to be used the first few times he washes it, for the prevention of pink uniform…

Right, back to the kitchen. I have another GF Bakery order to fill!

More soon.

13 thoughts on “AHQ: Objective achieved

  1. Looks good and a real winner for a soccer fan 🙂 Colour catchers are the best 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      Especially when you don’t want your dress whites turning a delicate shade of pink… It’s not my best work, but it WAS quick, and since I posted it today, he’ll get it before HMAS Toowoomba sails 🙂

  2. tialys says:

    It’s great! He’ll be grinning chuffed to bits.

  3. tialys says:

    Oops! I just meant chuffed to bits but he’ll probably be grinning too 🙂

  4. Well done – a real achievement in the short time you had.

    • katechiconi says:

      I suspect I may be called on again in future if there’s a last minute request, since I’ve demonstrated I can churn something out quickly. Once the ship sails, I think I may get a bit of a break… I want to finish Amistad, I have embroidery to do, there are scraps to be sorted and at least three other quilt projects waiting for my attention!

  5. You don’t muck about, do you? I hope they found people to make the other last-minute ones too.

  6. Kim says:

    Are there kangaroos on that blue fabric on the back? I love that! Great job on the quilt. Fast, appealing and comforting. Good job!

  7. it’s lovely and boyish, I think someone out there will be very very happy !!!!

Leave a Reply

