AHQ: Action stations!

I pulled a late-nighter last night.

Aussie Hero Quilts has sent dozens of quilts and laundry bags out to HMAS Toowoomba, and an amazing job of meeting demand has been done, but there were four quilts that were still needed and no-one had claimed the jobs.

I’d intended to wait till I’d finished Amistad, but I couldn’t let our boys and girls go out without a spot of bunk comfort, so I answered the call and I’m doing one of them. I got the go ahead at 8.45pm last night and got stuck in straight away. The Able Seaman likes the Brisbane Broncos rugby team (good man!) and Manchester United soccer team (even better man!). I suspected that Broncos quilts might not be that rare aboard Toowoomba, so I opted for the Man U version, in red and white rather than maroon and gold.

Screen shot 2014-08-16 at 4.13.13 PMHere’s where we are so far. The club logo is an iron-on transfer I printed, the Thank You signal is also a transfer, and the soccer ball is appliqué. There’s still another 24″ to go at the bottom, and I have no idea what it’s going to look like right now. This baby is going to need a couple of pre-washes with a colour catcher before I send it out, otherwise he’s going to have a pink uniform… I’ll send him some colour catcher sheets to go in the machine with it, and I’ll warn  him to wash it separately the first couple of times.

I’ll make the back up out of something from the depth of the cupboard, and it will probably feature my beloved navy and white kangaroo print somewhere… That’s the trouble with last minute jobs: you don’t have time to design, consider, cogitate and twiddle. I’m making this thing up as I go along, line by line.

I’m hoping for a finished top on Monday, quilted by Wednesday, bound Thursday and out on Friday. That way I can hit the deadline before HMAS Toowoomba sails and stand down, job done.

Wish me luck!

11 thoughts on “AHQ: Action stations!

  1. alisonsye says:

    Sounds great – it’s nice to make things up as you go along sometimes.

    • katechiconi says:

      Very true, but my big worry is I don’t have enough fabrics in the right colours to get the thing done! I’m blowed if I’ll inflict florals on a sailor… Anyway, I think I’m nearly there, got the next three bands sorted, just the last couple of inches to go and then I’m on the backing.

  2. Phew! Quelle vitesse! I mostly make things up as I go along. The results are usually better than those I’ve spent hours designing!

  3. tialys says:

    It’s looking great already – you are a bit of a sewing hero yourself!

    • katechiconi says:

      Aw, shucks… Seriously, I got to choose which one I wanted to do, I knew the ManU colour was red and I happened to have a load of red and white offcuts, so it came together fairly simply. The next strips under the football will be: wide red, narrower white, dark red, and finally something I haven’t yet decided. Perhaps alternating black and white squares…

  4. You’ve done a fab job! I must admit to giggling at the thought of a pink uniform LOL 😀

    • katechiconi says:

      No laughing matter for the poor boy! Red’s the worst for bleeding, to the extent that AHQ has had to do a special post on their blog, begging people to prewash red quilts to ensure it doesn’t happen. Still, you can’t do a MUFC quilt without red, so that’s that!

  5. Kirsten says:

    It never fails to amaze me how quickly you can pull all this together. I would still be cutting out the fabric!

Leave a Reply

