Doing the Happy Dance

It’s not elegant, but it is expressive.

And it’s what we were both doing yesterday early evening, out on the Mackay Harbour breakwater.

We’d gone there to get some fresh air, tell ourselves it was OK if the offer on the house was rejected, and generally get a bit of perspective, which, as it happens, was not required. We got the phone call we’d been waiting for. Our offer has been accepted and we’re aaaaalllll good!

In a newly optimistic frame of mind this morning, I slashed my way through the rest of the box of scraps.

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 9.43.57 AMAnd then I was able to come up with a quilting plan for Amistad that I like, thanks to this post from Esther, who inspired me to look at Japanese sashiko patterns:

http://ipatchandquilt.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/learning-from-the-pros

Screen shot 2014-08-14 at 9.44.14 AM

And the sun is shining, and most things are right in my world.

But I’m not going to tempt fate by posting photos yet.  We all know what happened last time…

Have a great day. I will!

36 thoughts on “Doing the Happy Dance

  1. Esther says:

    Super duper fantastic!!!Can’t wait to see your new home!
    And your drawing looks very interesting too!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve adapted two traditional sashiko designs for regular hand quilting – I don’t want to use the very thick thread. I hope it works ok. I’ll post photos once we’ve had the building report and I’m sure the deal is going ahead.

  2. Jen Nathan says:

    Amazing! So pleased for you guys xxx fingers toes and everything else crossed can’t wait to see photos Xzz

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  3. Kaja says:

    Congratulations and fingers crossed for a straightforward completion. And in the meantime you have a beautifully organised scrap pile (mine is hanging in plastic bags from cupboard doors). I love sashiko – think that style will look perfect for Amistad.

    • katechiconi says:

      It needs something simple and organised to contrast with the riotous florals on the top, I think. Dealing with the scrap box was surprisingly easy and satisfying, if a bit time consuming. I can’t think why I left it so long. Only another 6 boxes to go…

  4. I’m happy for you. Are those designs for hand or machine quilting?

    • katechiconi says:

      For hand quilting, using big stitches, which is all my arthritic hands can manage. I’m not going for perfect – it wouldn’t be in the spirit of our friendship – I’m going for a nice look and a finished quilt.

  5. tialys says:

    Can’t wait to see some pics.

    • katechiconi says:

      Next week, once we’ve had an OK building report! We’re going along to measure up and draw a plan of the house so we can decide where everything goes and what needs to be done.

  6. claire93 says:

    great news on the house ^^

  7. Gun, Sweden says:

    Nice!!!!! Both the house (witch I´m very curious to see 🙂 ) and the quiltpattern! Good lock with both 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      I really want to show pictures, but I don’t want to jinx the deal, so it has to wait till we know we can go ahead. But as soon as I know, I’ll show lots! The quilting pattern is going to be quite simple, but it will take me a while because the quilt is 60″ square.

  8. lovelucie1 says:

    Fingers crossed here for smooth proceedings from now on!

  9. WOOHOO… what great news!

    • katechiconi says:

      My thoughts exactly. Closely followed by plans for the chicken run, vegie beds, where to plant the fruit trees, a hedge along the back fence, an arbour halfway down the garden, etc, etc…

  10. anne54 says:

    How exciting! So looking forward to hearing about the next adventure 🙂

  11. Kirsten says:

    Fingers crossed for the inspection as I can’t wait to see some photos – I’m intrigued about the garden given the recent pictures of plants you have been pinning on Pinterest!

    • katechiconi says:

      The garden, I have to tell you with some glee, is 1800sqm, 90m long, and as the Husband is completely uninterested in gardening, it’s all mine! Some of the things I’ve Pinned probably won’t grow here, but I can research substitutes, and some will do just fine. Space to play properly at last!

  12. I like those patterns. I’ll have to get you to help me sketch my next quilting design. 🙂
    Congrats on the house!

Leave a Reply

