Marking time

We are waiting to hear if our latest offer on the house we want has been accepted, or if we have to start again.

It has become impossible to work at anything that requires concentration. Waiting around for someone else to make a decision is one of my least favourite things to do. I can decide stuff quickly, why can’t other people? I therefore took on a long overdue and mindless task. I was shamed into it by a recent post from one of my favourite bloggers, Granny Maud’s Girl:

http://grannymaudsgirl.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/waste-not-want-not

Like her, I consider pieces of fabric over 10″ square to be proper fabric, not scraps. They get folded and put into my stash, at the front of each basket so I know they’re smaller than the yardage or fat quarters.

Up to now, I have tried and completely failed to be organised with my scraps. They currently lurk in a faintly threatening and less faintly reproachful way in a series of shoe boxes in my fabric cupboard.

Screen shot 2014-08-13 at 2.16.20 PMIt’s a measure of my restiveness that I was driven to take out a box and make a start on rationalising this mess. My mental state is not up to organised thought or creativity. However, I’m quite capable of ruthless ruler and rotary cutter action. And I now have a half empty shoebox and a nice pile of 2 ½” strips which can be used for binding, a strippy quilt or cut into squares, 2 ½” squares, 2″ squares, 5″ squares, and random ‘strings’ of fabric (too good to chuck out, too small for most stuff but sure to come in useful…).

I don’t actually feel any better, but I have the satisfaction of having done something useful. I wonder if I’ll be able to keep going once we have an answer…?

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Marking time

  1. Kaja says:

    Nothing worse than a wait – hope you get the right answer, and soon.

  2. Esther F. says:

    When I am in a situation like that, I need to clean out cupboards. Especially ones with lots of junk… I KNOW I need to do exactly that today because it is really bad. Try opening a door and things spill out. Oops!
    I hope you get great news soon!!!

  3. Congratulations on the organized nature of your scraps – I am much more idle than you: – I have a big-scraps bin and a crumbs bin which includes the trimmings from blocks. I made a kingsize crumb quilt for my daughter and still that bin is overflowing onto the floor!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not quite frugal enough to keep scraps smaller than 2″ square… Unless they’re long strips, in which case anything bigger than 3/4″ and smaller than 2″ wide is kept. I have no idea what for, but they seem too large to throw out. I take no credit for being organised; my cupboard is getting to the point where scraps fall out when I open the door, and I needed displacement activity badly!

  4. My mum used to come home and cut up vegetables for soup when she had a bad day. She took her frustrations out on carrots. I hope hacking into fabric eased some of your frustrations!
    I like quick decisions and actions too. Slow drives me bonkers! I can never work for the government; it would not suit my temperament.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think the chuck’n’slash action must have helped, because we got an answer, and we got the house! And I can actually face the idea of doing some more cutting till that box is empty, so I’m very, very grateful for your post and the gentle boot up the bum it applied when I needed it! Plus tidying that mess up means I can pack it tidily when the time comes to pack.

  5. tialys says:

    One day, I too will get round to being this organised. I have two large sacks full of scraps and, because they are not cut or arranged in any way, I never look inside but just buy new fabric. Such a waste really.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve discovered some quite large bits of fabrics I’ve loved and mourned when I used them up – or so I thought. It’s worth an occasional rummage for nice surprises like that. And we got the house, so the evening has ended very, very well.

  6. Baking or cleaning is a good distraction 🙂 I love scraps, think I get more enjoyment from sewing with them than a few meters of fabric :/ Fingers crossed for a positive outcome 🙂

  7. claire93 says:

    nothing worse than having to wait. I do hope you’ll get a positive reply to your offer very soon.

  8. Gun, Sweden says:

    Why don´t you sew Majabags in different colours for your scraps? You can find the pattern at my blog 🙂
    http://rutigt.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/rosa-pink/
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      Good idea! I feel a black scrappy bag coming on – I have lots and lots of 2.5″ squares in mostly black. And I have lots of small bits of batting to be used up as well. Thank you for the great idea!

  9. cecilia says:

    O do hope you hear soon. Buying a house is such a tedious process. And if you love it that is even worse and of course you must love it or why would you buy it! Though I have never owned a house that I chose in my life! So really i have no idea..You are inspiring me to clean out mmy wardrobe though. Have a lovely morning.. c

    • katechiconi says:

      We heard! We got it! I am already planning my chook yard and vegie beds and where to put the fruit trees I have living in tubs, and where the worm farm will be… A few minor hurdles between now and then: the building inspection, waiting for the owner to come back from a two week trip (he has a trawler) so he can sign the contract, packing… And yes, I LOVE the house. I love even more that having 20 solar panels on the roof means we’ll never have another power bill. My grin has been huge and unstoppable all evening.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Congratulations on the new house – and on the organized fabric! Good things!

Leave a Reply

