Amistad Chapter 5: the distracting sandwich…

Since I’m no longer going to be project manager at a building site, I thought I’d get out my sewing machine again.

I need some distraction. We have an offer under consideration on another house, and the wait is a bit trying. So I thought I’d give myself an alternative form of frustration which I could actually do something about. Doing the quilt sandwich on Amistad fit the bill nicely. I’m sure I’ve mentioned before how much I love grovelling and pinning… not. While I’m waiting for the phone call, I may as well be making progress on something!

Screen shot 2014-08-12 at 9.52.42 AMFor the backing, I’ve gone for a nice wideback in a rich cream with a pale cream overprint in a floral design which echoes the designs on the front. I find I prefer a plain, unpieced back – my mistakes show up less, if it’s not absolutely straight it doesn’t matter, and the trim-offs are always useful. And if it’s a print, quilting errors don’t scream at you either. I like to get things right, but I prefer to get things done, so I’ve slowly become a bit more forgiving with myself if there are imperfections. I’m never going to enter competitions, so it doesn’t matter, putting a quilt in the local show isn’t exactly trying for Houston, and every quilt is a learning process.

Screen shot 2014-08-12 at 9.53.00 AMI haven’t yet decided how I’m quilting this one. I think I may hand quilt it in big-stitch, and I’m considering a way of integrating names and a date to commemorate the friendship this quilt is named after. As always, it’ll be quite lightly quilted because I like drape versus the stiffness of much quilting, but perhaps this one will have a little more than usual. The top is very simple, and can carry off a bit of extra. I’m thinking of a big Baptist Fan or clamshell design…

Any suggestions?

 

11 thoughts on “Amistad Chapter 5: the distracting sandwich…

  1. When in trouble, turn o quilting. It always takes your mind off things.
    Do you still grovel and pin? I use 555 temporary glue, andtack round the edge, and the sandwich is so much easier and better. I have three tables I push together which can take the biggest quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have found my own way around the grovelling bit: I tape the backing along one long edge of my 3 metre long thin table. On top of that goes the batting, and then I line up the top edge of the quilt, leaving a couple of inches of batting and backing all round. I pin from the taped edge to the opposite edge, then untape, pull the pinned section across and pin some more. It works a treat, no sore back and knees, and a nice flat, tight sandwich. The pinning still has to be done – I’ve tried basting sprays and large tacks, but I prefer pins. I don’t have any room large enough for three tables together, so I guess I’ll be sticking to my current method!

  2. tialys says:

    I do the taping thing also but I use the floor of my workroom which is upstairs where no animals are allowed. I don’t make enormous sized quilts very often though – I prefer baby sized or throw sized – so that makes life a bit easier and time spent on knees a bit shorter. I’m with you on the patterned backing to make any quilting imperfections less obvious and, believe me, I am grateful for any help in that direction!
    I hope you don’t have to wait too much longer for a response about your offer.

  3. katechiconi says:

    The table has the advantage of sparing my knees and back, and you just need an edge that’s longer than the width of your quilt. We are currently engaged in a game of estate agent tennis, offer and counter offer winging back and forth. But the process is long winded because the husband works remotely and the wife can’t contact him for most of the day, and she won’t give an answer without consulting. Meanwhile, we continue to scour the internet for the next potential place…

  4. Given Im the lazy quilter 😉 my quilts go to a wonderful long armer hahahahaha Not a fan of crawling, moaning and cursing hahahaha Plus I will make quilt tops or blocks all day every day but not the rest of the process :/ Glad you found a distraction even if its hard work 😉 hahahah

  5. katechiconi says:

    I’ve never had a quilt quilted for me… I’m not sure I’d like it! I did also manage another job after the sandwich, making a pattern for travel bags that fit inside our motorbike panniers, a weird chubby teardrop shape. I’ll do a post about that later.

  6. claire93 says:

    lovely choice of fabrics

  7. Kirsten says:

    I do like a clam shell!

    Have you had the phone call yet or are you still distracting yourself?

    In other news, I found a pattern for a quilt in one of my craft magazines at the weekend. I had previously dismissed it but I am considering giving it a go after seeing all of your quilts. Also it would use up some of the fabric that I have a habit of hoarding and then doing nothing with!

    • katechiconi says:

      Had the call, closed the deal, the house is ours, OK building inspection permitting. Hurray, hallelejah and other jubilant noises! The clamshell is adjourned to another day, I’m using two sashiko patterns instead. Do have a go at the quilt, they’re fun, satisfying and useful as well as being beautiful.

Leave a Reply

