Waking Sleeping Beauty: the massacre of the paint cards

We’ve signed and handed over the contract. Now all we can do for the next few days is wait.  

On Thursday the building inspection is happening, and we’ll be going through the place at the same time, frantically measuring and plotting each room, each door, window, power outlet (precious few) and where the services are.

Screen shot 2014-08-05 at 1.56.41 PMI spent quality time yesterday in all the large DIY outlets, picking up brochures, paint cards, swatches, catalogues, the lot. I have come away with most of a dead tree. The scissors have come into play, and while my book is full of colour chips and visual reference, the dustbin is full of discarded purples, browns, yellows, reds and oranges. She’s going to be clothed in neutrals, mostly, with a little fresh green here and there. My Pinterest Queenslander Inspiration board is filling up fast – I know a couple of you have already been for a quick visit, but if you haven’t do take a look:

My sewing room feels a little weird. There’s no visible sewing. Everything is neatly put away, waiting for me to have a few clear days to put the sandwich for Amistad together, or cut more pieces for Steampunk. I’m going to need the desk space to play project manager for the renovation…

One thing I will be doing is a little more embroidery, so I can join the SAL on Sunday. I can’t let my sewing life slip entirely!

17 thoughts on “Waking Sleeping Beauty: the massacre of the paint cards

  1. tialys says:

    Love the neutral colour palette – you must be having lots of fun with all the charts and inspirational lifestyle images. In my next life – the one where I’m not going to have any dogs or cats – I’m going to have creamy white walls and floors and pale coloured furniture and soft furnishings :}

    • katechiconi says:

      Heaps of fun! It’s letting me have free rein to my design side again, and I enjoy the visualising, and the plotting of the kitchen, and the squeezing of maximum result from minimum budget. I’m not a serial renovator just for profit, there’s a whole lot of fun to be had too.

  2. EllaDee says:

    Oh, there’s a little fresh green here… me, green with envy. Love your Pinterest board 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m having so much fun with it! There’s not the smallest chance of us ending up with any of those House & Garden type houses, but it’s good for giving me ideas about colour, proportion and the sort of feel I’m aiming for. Fortunately, we’re not looking at any sort of major works. The bathroom will stay where it is with only minor changes, the kitchen will still be the kitchen, only usable, all the walls will stay where they are… We have some roof work, guttering, plumbing and electrical to contend with, and apart from that, it’s mostly cosmetic.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks for the inspiration! My kitchen needs to be brighter – I’m liking that celery shade for the walls. I want to tackle a backsplash next!

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t want to tile over the beautiful tongue and groove panelling, so I may paint a strip a slightly brighter shade of green and make the splashback out of perspex or glass over that, with a sheet of steel or zinc behind the stove for heat resistance.

  4. How exciting… lots of hard work ahead, but what a great place it’s going to be!

    • katechiconi says:

      I was trying to work out a works schedule for the house yesterday (impossible without more photos, measurements and details of where the services are) and it is clear that the great majority of the interior work is just cosmetic, involving serious quantities of elbow grease and paintbrush action, but no building as such. The kitchen and bathroom will need wet and dry trades, but no plastering or tiling as I don’t want to destroy any panelling.

  5. I love colourful paint but I agree that this house needs neutrals. Like posh travellers in the tropics in episodes of Poirot – elegant in pale linen. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! There’s a danger of making the rooms gloomy and oppressive with too much strong colour. I prefer to keep things pale and elegant and accessorise with colour. Or possibly a quilt or two on the walls… The existing mint green and bright yellow options are a valuable lesson in what not to do!

  6. anne54 says:

    What an exciting adventure. The touches of green will make the whole place zing!

    • katechiconi says:

      I couldn’t face a totally white kitchen, I must admit. Even with the inevitable clutter that will ensue, it would have been a bit stark. The soft green will make it a bit friendlier. And finally I’ll be able to unpack my blue and white china!

      • anne54 says:

        The thrill of the unpacking and setting up a new space. And vowing to keep it just as pristine as when you set it up 🙂

  7. Kirsten says:

    I have a habit of collection paint cards even when I don’t need them. Whenever I enter a DIY store I seem drawn to them like a magnet. Sometimes I manage to resist.

  8. katechiconi says:

    I love them too – but have a look at my Pinterest board called Pretty Things. There’s a paint chip garland there you could make which would excuse collecting all the paint cards you want!

  9. HoC says:

    Hey My Darling Kate (aka – Thor-a: Goddess of Hammers and Whacking Things)… just to let everyone know that I have the colour sense of a dog… I may not have a good eye for colour (but I can lift heavy things and get lids off jars)… I’m very relieved that you are directing the whacking elsewhere… I can’t wait to get started as well… Love HoC

  10. katechiconi says:

    Dear Husband, I suppose my alias had to come out some time…. It’s been a long time since I was Thor-a, but we’ve got a lot of whacking to do together. Leave the colour to me, and I’ll leave the heavy lifting to you! Let’s RESTORE something!

Leave a Reply

