AHQ#2: laundry bags

Here’s the next two AHQ productions.

Screen shot 2014-08-01 at 12.37.50 PMThe first one (on the left) is for a Richmond Tigers AFL supporter, an Able Seaman in the RAN. That was an easy one, because the colours, logo and initials are all obvious.

The other one is Sock Monster. It’s a generic laundry bag, which will go to someone who needs one but hasn’t provided any information. I had to seam the denim together across the middle to make the sections large enough, and while I was pinning, I thought it looked like a mouth. The teeth followed, then the eyes, and then the sock was just, well, obvious… After all, laundries are notorious for eating your socks, aren’t they?

I’m going to take a short break now, and get on with one of my own projects.

17 thoughts on “AHQ#2: laundry bags

  1. Love the laundry bags and the sock monster bag, what can I say about the Richmond one given we are a house of red and white 😉 Great job.

  2. tialys says:

    Love the sock monster bag – I’m sure that will put a big smile on the face of whoever receives it.

  3. Woo-haaaaaa Sock monsters are out to eat ours sock?.. Who knew?
    Thanks for the heads-up!
    Esther

  4. they are great !!! there is a sock monster in my house too but I haven’t found it yet !!!

  5. I love the sock monster!
    I always carefully check that two socks go in the washing machine. That way two always come out and get hung out on the line together. Yup. Methodical me. Never lost a sock yet.

    • katechiconi says:

      He’s fun, isn’t he? A lucky Petty Officer has been selected as the victim to receive him, so I sincerely trust he’s got a sense of humour. Funny, but it was never my socks that went missing… I do have one of those mesh laundry bags for small items, and if the sock monster reappears, I shall start using that again.

  6. Kirsten says:

    I love, love, love the sock monster! He’s adorable. He can’t fail to bring a smile to whoever receives him.

    • katechiconi says:

      The lady who runs AHQ also loves him, and has designated someone to receive him, hand picked from a cast of thousands. I have a few ideas for a run of novelty bags, but it’s going to have to wait a bit.

  7. Your sock monster bag is an inspiration. I can imagine making tote bags and backpacks for my favorite toddler with a monster face, maybe even a real sock hanging out of its mouth.

    • katechiconi says:

      I contemplated a real sock, but knowing what industrial washing machines can do to things, I decided appliqué was the way to go… How about a monster backpack with a monster head hood attached; ears, spikes, horns, the lot. I can visualise something right now!

Leave a Reply

