We have lift-off

Today I delivered the first batch of gluten free cakes and biscuits.

I’ve been rather quiet in blogland over the past few days while I flung together a spreadsheet for all the recipes: ingredients listings, ingredient costs, recipe costs, sources, weights, consumables, etc. But it’s been worth it, as I now know exactly what it’s costing me to make them, rather than having a wild guess and ending up out of pocket. It includes all the stuff you don’t normally think about, like baking paper, oven time, spices, transport containers, paper doylies, stationery for invoices, etc.

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 10.08.04 AMScreen shot 2014-07-29 at 10.08.36 AMScreen shot 2014-07-29 at 10.07.50 AMScreen shot 2014-07-29 at 10.08.25 AMFrom the top, then: crispy choc chip peanut butter cookies; chocolate almond fingers (aka bokkepootjes); gingerbread and date loaf; caramelised pear cake. The cake is absolutely gorgeous warmed up and served with a bit of cream. OK, a lot of cream… Excuse the container shots, I only realised once they were packed that I hadn’t photographed them, and I wanted to avoid too much handling.

There was a lot of ooing and aahing from the shop owner, lots of deep sniffs of the smell of freshly baked cookies and cakes, and pretty much a promise to re-order. I think it was the peanut butter cookies that did the trick… She’s also going to pass my name on to another woman who is fed up with scrubbing her kitchen down to make GF cakes for other people, and wants a GF supplier.

She also asked about savoury items, as people sometimes come in wanting something for lunch. So I’ll have to put together a list for that. Dear me… This could get quite interesting….

Cross your fingers for me!

24 thoughts on “We have lift-off

  1. EllaDee says:

    Yum 🙂 I thought of you on Sunday when I was baking the G.O.’s banana bread smoko for the week… and due to having tidied up the cupboards earlier in the week, inadvertantly added GF SR flour to the mix rather the the usual organic SR flour.
    If in Nth Qld there is a similar cafe obsession with banana bread, this is a simple recipe – no eggs therefore cheaper to make – that could [deliberately] be adapted for GF and possibly also lactose free.
    http://www.bestrecipes.com.au/recipe/very-simple-banana-bread-L7009.html

    • katechiconi says:

      I had a look – it’s very similar to the one I use already, except I put an egg in and leave out one of the bananas. The coffee shop already has non-GF banana bread and doesn’t want to duplicate, sadly, but are pretty pleased with the ginger/date loaf, which is the same sort of item. They’re delighted with what I’ve given them, are asking for more suggestions, savoury lunch items, and would I mind if they pass my name on. Er, no, that won’t be a problem….

  2. Kaja says:

    These look yummy! I could eat the pear cake right now (and it’s 6.30 in the morning here). You were looking for an extra career, weren’t you?

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, I might as well do something I love, and I LOVE baking. OK, I love eating more…. The pear cake would be nice for breakie, warmed through with a dollop of yoghurt (or cream, of course).

  3. I have a great GF muffin recipe that is also lactose free. Would you like that? It is really easy!
    Esther

  4. I don’t think we need to cross our fingers, I think you’re on your way already ! Everything looks amazing 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m a bit stunned by the speed at which everything is happening. On Friday, none of this was remotely dreamed of. Now, I appear to be starting a new business! I think I need to go carefully, at first anyway.

  5. Emmely says:

    Sounds like it’s probably going to work out really well!

  6. Oooh. I would be ordering the pear cake.

  7. I think you are going to be very busy…….!!!!!

  8. wombatquilts says:

    Well done I love the look of those almond things. I see a new fun adventure starting with all this.

    • katechiconi says:

      They taste pretty fabulous, and are not hard to make, just very, very fiddly. I can’t seem to stop writing down recipe ideas just now. I should just concentrate on getting a few things perfect, I think…

  9. anne54 says:

    It is a great idea to make that extensive list. Those little things are so easy to overlook. Isn’t pricing a tricky thing, especially factoring in your own time. The goodies look delicious. Yum!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m afraid my time isn’t really being factored in too much. I want to get the demand established, then I can make economies of scale on the ingredients by buying in greater bulk, and then I can start charging my time a bit more realistically. I can see that I’m going to be getting through mountains of baking paper, especially if they order more of the almond fingers!

  10. Kirsten says:

    In my brief experience of selling, savoury stuff was definitely more popular than the sweet, and was the most requested. It’s worth looking into a couple of quiche options as they are easy to keep.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have quite a list drafted out, including a couple of quiche type things. I need to make a few samples to take along when I’m delivering the next order.

  11. tialys says:

    I’ve got my fingers crossed for you but I don’t think you’ll need it. I still need to make those peanut butter cookies.

Leave a Reply

