AHQ#1: completed

Mission accomplished.

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 8.40.37 AM

Front

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 8.41.02 AM

Back

Here is the Petty Officer’s quilt, ready to pack up and send out as soon his ship deploys and I have an address. Apart from the quilting hideousness, it’s been enjoyable and satisfying to produce something that’s needed and will give someone who does a hard job a bit of comfort and appreciation. I’ve enjoyed the fun bits, and am especially proud of that signal flag strip on the back.  I’d like to incorporate that into other Navy quilts, but another time it’ll either be larger, or printed on a strip of white fabric. Piecing those tiny squares was just too time consuming and fiddly (not to mention pretty wonky!).

A few detail shots… I have my next assignment. Only a laundry bag this time, but it’s going to be fun because of the requested design features.

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 8.42.44 AM

VW Beetle, with some hairpin bends to negotiate…

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 8.42.54 AM

Soccer ball, with ‘bounce’

Screen shot 2014-07-29 at 8.42.29 AM

‘Ghost’ VW Kombi


Watch this space.

10 thoughts on “AHQ#1: completed

  1. Love the Kombi van, see a lot of posts today asking for assistance with making quilts 🙂 Great job.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’m a bit of a Kombi fan, of 70s and 80s vintage, mind you… I don’t know many other quilters who can boast they’ve had a Kombi engine in pieces on the dining room floor, being rebuilt from the block out!

  2. I think this is amazing. An incredibly special labour of love 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Next job is already on the production line, but it’ll be a lot quicker, being an urgent laundry bag to go with a quilt someone else is making. After that, I’ll put my hand up for another quilt.

  3. Cool hairpin bends in the quilting!
    If I stare carefully, it is fun figuring out from the back where the ball and car are on the front.

  4. katechiconi says:

    The ball is easy, there’s a big curve for the bounce! As for the hairpin bends, as the Husband says, “you can’t see the road for the roos”. But unlike his job, my roos aren’t roadkill!

  5. love the kangurou’s ! I’m sure someone will love it ! I do !

  6. Kirsten says:

    Ta-dah! I hope he likes it. My favourite bits are the bendy ‘road’ with the car patch and the signal flags on the back. Looking forward to the laundry bag.

    • katechiconi says:

      Me too! I need to buy some fabric for the laundry bag, I don’t have enough black, but I have a fun idea sketched out, and this time, it’s for a female Able Seaperson…

Leave a Reply

