Something to celebrate

I am at war with my sewing machine, so it’s just as well something nice has happened.

First, the problem: my walking foot isn’t walking, so the top and bottom layers of the AHQ quilt I’m working on are moving through the machine at different rates. The result is lumps, puckers and bulges. It’s not huge, but it’s visible to me, and I’m not happy…

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 3.23.18 PM

Remember these?

The nice thing is fun! We recently visited a coffee shop we hadn’t been to for a while. It was under new management, and while the coffee was still great, they didn’t have any gluten free goodies for me to munch on. It seems the new owners haven’t been able to find a reliable source of completely safe GF cakes locally. So of course, I piped up. The upshot is that I’m delivering three different offerings to the coffee shop early next week: The almond bickies shown above, gingerbread, and caramelised pear cake.  Hopefully the owner will like them… If it all works out, I’ll offer the same service to the other independent coffee shops.

I’ve spent a couple of hours working up a spreadsheet to cost out the cakes and bickies, including consumables like baking parchment, and oven running costs.  Might as well be professional about it from the get go.

I’ll let you know how I get on.

31 thoughts on “Something to celebrate

  1. Great news, and very entrepreneurial of you. Am sure your baked goodies will be a great success – and if you have any left, please send them my way 🙂

  2. Emmely says:

    Oh, that does sound exciting!

  3. You could always send these to me…
    🙂
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      Funny, there’s a lot of hungry people saying the same thing. Currently the list features the three I mentioned in the post (and the almond biscuits are indeed bokkepootjes), plus chocolate fudge brownies, caramel shortbread, banoffee pie, lemon cheesecake, carrot cake, peanut butter cookies and chocolate jaffa cake. I’ll add more as I think of them.

  4. Yum. Good luck with sales – how could anyone resist those cookies?

  5. tialys says:

    It’s always fun to have a new venture – good luck with it. I know how you feel about your walking foot – I was just overlocking the raw edges of ten 2 metre tablecloths I’ve made for a charity event tomorrow night and I was zipping along thinking ‘this isn’t so bad’ when the damn thing chewed up a bit of fabric and came unthreaded which is always to be avoided with an overlocker. Ho hum.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh Lord, I know the feeling – your heart sinks. I’m looking forward to the cakes thingy, but I’m not sure I’m ready to go for large scale production, especially not in my current kitchen!

  6. Sandikirk says:

    How enterprising of you – and just by asking for GF. Wish it was so easy everywhere! xx

    • katechiconi says:

      I think this truly was a case of being in the right place at the right time, and an enlightened local businesswoman who wants to keep her suppliers local too. Now all I have to do is deliver some fabulousness!

  7. Kirsten says:

    Well done!! I hope it works out for you. At the very start of the bakery’s journey I tried selling gf items at a local farmers market. Everyone commented on how lovely it all looked and how delicious it was but despite persevering for 6 months, I never had a regular customer base that made it worth my while. I think some of it had to do with the town itself. Fingers crossed it works for you.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think I was just lucky enough to identify someone who was actively looking for GF cakes, who wanted a local supplier, and who wanted them on the scale I could cope with. But I’m counting no chickens yet, since I have yet to deliver the first batch!

  8. good luck with your new venture !!!

  9. EllaDee says:

    There is certainly a market for GF, and your samples look so delicious that they would have universal appeal regardless 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s very kind of you. I do know there’s a bit of a shortage of GF options round here except for enormous, bland and stodgy muffins and the occasional hideously expensive bit of cheesecake. Let’s see how it goes…

  10. wombatquilts says:

    Kate this is fabulous. What a fun side venture.

    • katechiconi says:

      Isn’t it? I’m hoping the demand will be steady but moderate so I don’t get too tied up with it, otherwise – gasp – I’d have to cut back on the quilting. Also, my kitchen is very, very small and I simply don’t have space…

  11. Kaja says:

    Ooh yum, they look delicious. Good luck with your new enterprise. Sewing machines, like cars and computers, should be obliged to work all the time. There should just be a rule about it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree wholeheartedly! I shall have to resume tomorrow, but going very slowly and carefully to make sure there are no puckers, instead of relying on the walking foot as usual.

  12. I would have to pay people to eat what I bake! With just the two of us, I have never had enough mouths to feed to get the practice I need to become any good.

  13. Jule says:

    Good luck with your little enterprise! 🙂 Maybe you should mention the words ‘scrap metal heap’ to your sewing machine, works wonders with office equipment. 😉

  14. claire93 says:

    good luck with your new little baking business

  15. alisonsye says:

    That is brilliant news – I’m sure they will sell like hot cakes!

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, very good! I’m a little worried they’ve over-ordered; gf cakes don’t keep so well, they tend to get dry very quickly. On the other hand, if they sell, as you say, like hot cakes, I’ll hopefully get some more orders! I’ll be posting pictures shortly.

  16. The making you do, of foods and gardens and arts, surely adds to the creative energy on our planet. Enough makers in the world and maybe we’ll steer earth toward goodness.

Leave a Reply

