AHQ#1: Finished the top

Here’s a progress report for my first ever AHQ output.

Screen shot 2014-07-23 at 1.40.37 PMNow I have to piece the back, including a panel that will hold the official AHQ label. That dark navy and white kangaroo print is too good to blow the whole lot in one go, so I’m going to use a section of it, and hoard the rest.

Screen shot 2014-07-23 at 1.41.08 PMHere are some of the personalising details. The embroidered patches are just bought and stuck on, but I’m quite proud of the abstracted VW vintage Kombi appliqué. The VW badge on the front, however, was just too big an ask, so I did that in fine tip permanent marker… Hope it survives the Navy laundry!

I’m not too unhappy with the way it looks. It’s actually quite hard to make something for someone you don’t know at all, a young man whose tastes you’re not sure about, with quite scanty information about colour and interests. I suppose I’m spoiled normally by being able to discuss with future quilt owners what they like and want… It’s been a balance between producing something they’ll like and want to use and something I want to make!

Screen shot 2014-07-23 at 1.41.16 PMScreen shot 2014-07-23 at 1.41.23 PMScreen shot 2014-07-23 at 1.41.30 PMRight now, I haven’t really considered it much yet, but the quilting’s going to be just enough to hold the layers together, nothing fancy, and for durability it will be machine quilting. The binding will be blue.

Now then, that little puzzle from the end of my last AHQ post.  They’re maritime signal flags, and this is what they mean:

Screen shot 2014-07-23 at 7.08.29 AM

22 thoughts on “AHQ#1: Finished the top

  1. tialys says:

    Love the VW Camper detail. I would say it is probably difficult enough to make a quilt for a man, let alone one you don’t know but, you shouldn’t worry, what’s not to like here?

    • katechiconi says:

      I tried quite hard to make it as ungirly as possible. I wistfully rejected all my lovely blue and white floral scraps. I thought too much solid blue and white would be dull, hence the alternating blocks. It’s a relief the camper worked out, I was terrified of making a mess of it.

  2. Looking good! Try free-motion quilting the VW logo. It worked for me on the cushions I made. Go slowly, and use the special concentrating face.

  3. Kirsten says:

    Brum-Brum!!

    It’s quite narrow isn’t it? I suppose that is so it fits onto the bunks.

    You could colour the VW badge in with silver fabric paint??

    • katechiconi says:

      The narrowness is indeed to fit the bunks and rather narrow single beds. Also, if it’s narrow, we can make it longer so they get more cover. It’s all about weight, and the ability to fit in their kit. It’s a good suggestion to use fabric paint, but I think the quilt may get some fairly rough handling, and the laundering will be brutal so anything metallic will probably wear off quite quickly. I may give it another try doing it in straight stitch rather than satin zigzag; then at least I could see what I’m doing.

  4. rutigt says:

    We once had a VW combi, the vintage model. Than my DH sold it…….and I´m not sure I have forgiven him for that yet 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  5. I do like the colours, but the dimensions make it look like half a quilt… I’m sure that once it’s on a bunk it will look fantastic, however. I’m now fretting that I have sent you inappropriately girly fabric and blocks! Oh well, I’m sure you’ll find a use for them somewhere.

    • katechiconi says:

      Don’t fret. I can combine what you send with more masculine choices to toughen it up a bit! What I saw of the fabrics was fairly neutral in palette and shouldn’t be hard to use. The Husband says I can just add some cement and that’ll harden it up! Yes, thank you, dear…

  6. Elizabeth says:

    My word – you are a quick stitcher! I’m sure whoever gets this quilt will be grateful!

  7. my God, you are FAST !!!!! love the blue !

  8. I think it’s FLIPPING AWESOME 🙂 Whoever gets it will just be over the moon 🙂

  9. Kaja says:

    That was quick – and I think it’s lovely that the chap who gets it will know it was made for him, and will be able to see all his favourite things on it. Great cause, great quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve just finished piecing the back, and I’m pretty pleased with that too. I’ll post it tomorrow. After that, it’s all systems go to sandwich, quilt and bind it. By Monday, I may be ready for the next one…

  10. mlwilkie says:

    My hubby would love the VW combi van!! really like the block!!

Leave a Reply

