Stitch Along 2: Wedding Sampler progress

It’s a miracle I have anything to show you.

Since my last SAL post 3 weeks ago, I’ve hardly stopped. In between mad stitching on existing projects, I’ve committed to yet another baby quilt, agreed to make my SIL a quilt for her 40th birthday in October, and have signed up as a volunteer quiltmaker for Aussie Hero Quilts, making quilts and laundry bags for Australian service people on active duty. On top of that we had a 6 day, 2400km trip south to Coffs Harbour, and have just got back from 4 days in Cairns, another 1400km on the road. So my bottom has not been in contact with my sewing chair for quite a while.

I decided there was nothing for it but to take the Wedding Sampler with me and work on it in the evenings. I was a bit dubious about whether I’d actually get round to doing any stitching….

This is what came up to Cairns with us.

Screen shot 2014-06-27 at 7.44.41 PM

And this is what came back.  Progress!

Screen shot 2014-07-17 at 7.50.20 PM

Today, I’m linking up with:

Avis:  http://sewingbesidethesea.wordpress.com

Gun:  http://rutigt.wordpress.com

Claire:  http://claire93.wordpress.com

and Jule:  http://fromtheboudoir.wordpress.com

Do hop over and see what they’re working on.

18 thoughts on “Stitch Along 2: Wedding Sampler progress

  1. This is gorgeous. I cannot for the life of me take to counted stitchwork – for me it’s worse than watching grass grow – but your results (almost) tempt me to try!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so glad you like it! With this piece of work, I try and regard it as drawing with little dots. There’s almost no infilling work, which can get very tedious, I agree.

  2. claire93 says:

    well done ^^

  3. So pleased you pulled this one out of the WIP basket. It deserves to be finished. Gorgeous!!

  4. tialys says:

    Almost exactly what Viv said in the first comment 😉

  5. I do have one long-left project. I don’t call it “abandoned” because I still haven’t given up the notion of finishing it, decades after beginning. Going on long road trip in a bit. Perhaps I’ll take it…

  6. Great idea Kate! Come on Melanie. three weekly updates is all we ask, however small. That way, the projects get finished 🙂

  7. Who knew you could stitch while riding pillion on a scooter!

  8. rutigt says:

    I´m impressed you had the time to stitch at all 🙂 Good work!
    Gun, Sweden

Leave a Reply

