Amistad, Chapter 3

Sewing this baby at last!

Screen shot 2014-07-08 at 3.27.02 PM

The first two rows, pieced but not stitched together

On our trip south, I collected Mrs R’s contribution to Amistad, so I’ve been able to get behind the sewing machine and make some strides. Her lilacs and teals have provided the foil this quilt needed to prevent it being overwhelmingly, well, pink. It’s still very feminine, floral, fun, frivolous and other words beginning with F, but there’s a tiny bit more depth to it now. I have the first two rows sewn. Tomorrow I hope to get the next three done. After that, it’s sewing the rows together and then the top is done. I should have a Friday Finish to show you.

Screen shot 2014-07-08 at 3.27.25 PM

The other three rows laid out, waiting to be sewn

As I work on it, I’m revisiting my original ideas for the quilting. The large floral patches were originally going to have the flowers and shapes outlined, and the 9-patch blocks would have a spiral radiating out from the centre square. I’m beginning to think it’s all too busy for that, and what is needed is something plain, severe and formal, which will add depth but recede. I reckon I’m going to revert to my classic fall-back, cross hatching. Widely spaced in the large squares, closer in the 9-patches to give some textural differentiation. And definitely lilac binding. The backing will be whatever I can find in wideback that works. Cream, pale green, pale yellow. Not pink. There’s altogether too much  of that already. Failing wideback, I’ll go for some simple print without direction so I can fling it together. I don’t find the backs of quilts interesting unless they serve to show off the quilting.

I lost an hour or so of sewing time this afternoon, when the power company came by to fit new electricity meters following the installation of our solar panels. It’s nice to see the arrow going backwards, indicating we’re importing power into the grid. But I wish I had that time back.

The light’s going in my sewing room, and it’s time for the work lamp and some hand stitching.

11 thoughts on “Amistad, Chapter 3

  1. exquisite colours and patterns 🙂

  2. tialys says:

    Very pretty and feminine – what a contrast to your steampunk one.
    Funny – I tend to use backing fabric that will help my quilting to disappear but that’s more a necessity than a design feature.

  3. rutigt says:

    I really love your floral fabrics! They look so nice together!
    Gun, Sweden

  4. No such thing as too much pink, especially on feminine, floral and fun projects like this! I am sure you are enjoying the variety of this and Steampunk.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s sort of strange to flip from pink, floral and simple over to dark, geometric and severe and back again. But the good thing is that I can revert to Steampunk for evening handwork in front of the TV rather than not doing anything with my hands, so I’m extra productive!

  5. dayphoto says:

    We are soooooooooo interested in solar…but our power company has a penalty for those who go totally solar.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • katechiconi says:

      Now that is really very short sighted of them. We aren’t attempting to be fully solar, that would require too much capital investment in batteries, etc, but we will be seeing a sharp reduction in the power bill, which is very nice!

  6. Kirsten says:

    For some reason I thought this was going to be a lot brighter than it actually is. I love the colour combinations, quite delicate and feminine.

    • katechiconi says:

      It really is pretty and pastel, not at all my usual type of colour choice! I was first drawn to the range by the large warm-coloured floral print, and then expanded out into the rest of the designs and colours.

Leave a Reply

