Steampunk Wheel XI: ring 4 is complete

I couldn’t get through yet another day without a bit of sewing…

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 1.16.42 PM

Screen shot 2014-07-07 at 1.17.21 PMThe outer stormy grey is Ring 4. Outside this will go another silver ring, then another set of stars.  I’m still debating fabric choices for the stars – I think I may want to change the colour balance a bit, to give a different look. As it’s the largest ring, and the most complex type in terms of piecing, I’m going to need to be really sure, otherwise the unpicking is going to be horrendous.

And I’ve got Amistad laid out on my design wall. The whole thing. You’ll remember it’s a very simple pattern: large squares alternating with 9-patch blocks. So it’s done, and I’m happy with the balance of colours. It’s too large to get into one photo, so showing it’s going to have to wait until I’ve got some of it sewn together, which should be quick. I have lots of lovely leftovers, so I reckon there’s a couple of cushions and quite a few pincushions or other doodads waiting to emerge. Mrs R’s contribution is in there, pinging out some beautiful lilac highlights (hello, my lovely, great to see you the other day). I’m thinking this baby is going to need lilac binding too, so perhaps a visit to the LQS will produce something suitable.

Off to cut some fabric for Steampunk – Ring 5 – and then I can thread up the sewing machine and make a start on Amistad.

16 thoughts on “Steampunk Wheel XI: ring 4 is complete

  1. mihrank says:

    great information!!

  2. Kaja says:

    This is looking great; I wish I had the patience for piecing this way. I can’t believe you’re making progress on another quilt at the same time – you are so productive.

    • katechiconi says:

      The hand piecing is actually rather soothing and peaceful, and I do a lot of it in front of the TV in the evening. The other quilt is a machine pieced quilt and will go much faster, but is less creative. I find if you take a production line approach the front end of a job is a bit dull, but you go so much faster once you start putting the thing together.

  3. rutigt says:

    Nice wheel! I´m struggling with wheel 8, so many pieces 🙂
    Gun

    • katechiconi says:

      I still have two more rings for this one, the last is an outer ring of stars, and very big. But then the largest one will be done, and everything is easier.

  4. Can’t wait to see how the wheels look together… remember we are only seeing them one at a time, so trying to visualise the whole is really difficult… and trying to open multiple windows on my little laptop is just not viable. In the mean time… much anticipation!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think the next one after this is going to be the smaller wheel that joins the two I’ve already made. That way, it will grow organically rather than piecemeal, and I will be able to make better colour judgements when I see how things sit together.

  5. …but so beautiful and what a job!Hug Bambi

  6. Nanette says:

    mmmm, very nice

  7. tialys says:

    An interesting colour palette on this one. I can’t wait to see how it all comes together.

  8. Kirsten says:

    Love, love, love that colour combination 🙂

  9. How do you sew EPP so quickly? I only managed to baste a dozen or so EPP hexies last night during a whole episode of Foyle’s War.
    Looking forward to the Amistad sneak peaks!

    • katechiconi says:

      I can’t tell you, just that I basted 24 and stitched 14 together in about the same period… I suspect I’m a bit less meticulous, and I’ve had a great deal of practice. Compared with Steampunk, Amistad is looking quite incredibly sweet and girly. I’m feeling slightly schizophrenic hopping from one to the other. It’s not going to be my most creative quilt, but it will be very well loved.

Leave a Reply

