On the menu tonight…

While I was away, the Gardens of Chiconia have not been idle.

Screen shot 2014-07-06 at 11.05.21 AMThis basket is tonight’s supper, along with some nice local lamb cutlets. We have Chinese cabbage, bok choi, spinach, rocket (arugula), baby sweet potato leaves, a small but perfectly formed zucchini and some young green and butter beans.

I must organise some more bok choi and Chinese cabbage seedlings, spaces are opening up to plant more. I’ve had to prune the zucchini plants back a bit to give the beans a chance. There are lots of them, but if they get enough sun I may get another flush of flowers and hence more beans. And nipping leaves off the sweet potato vine not only helps to keep it to a reasonable size, but also gives me another green leaf vegetable.

The tomatoes are tall, green and rampant, and are slowly beginning to flower. The cherry toms have just set some microscopic green fruit, the Romas have begun to flower and the Grosse Lisse have buds. So it looks as if I’ll get a nice long tomato season! The Grosse Lisse plants are huge, so I’m hoping for a big crop so I can bottle some tomato sauce.

Back to the laundry. How we managed to accumulate 4 loads of it I’m not too sure, but it all has to get done. Plus weeding, soup making, cleaning, admin and last but not least, sewing. Hurray for quiet Sundays….

More soon. 😉

17 thoughts on “On the menu tonight…

  1. mihrank says:

    wow – so wonderful information – good job!!

  2. Marianne says:

    What’s for pudding? 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      When the strawberries start doing their stuff and the rhubarb is a little larger…. In the meantime, I swear off pudding and the waistline is much improved.

  3. WordPress has dropped my following of you – I haven’t had a notification about a post for over 2 months!!! This has happened once or twice before, and to other people as well, but I’m back hot on your trail. Your posts have also not been appearing in my Reader, which is distressing.
    I read your comment on Snail’s post re exotic birds and googled Splendid Fairy Wren. Too amazing for words.
    Anyway, hello again, nice to be back – I’m going to go through all your posts Ive missed now…. 🙂 xxx

    • katechiconi says:

      Welcome back! I’m glad it didn’t return the favour and deprive me of yours. But strange things have been happening – my blog and those of several other people went Turkish for an hour or so, literally. I haven’t yet decided if it’s going to be a Fairy Wren or a Rainbow Lorikeet, both of which would be suitably outlandish.

  4. EllaDee says:

    It’s always good to get home with a day up your sleeve after a break, even better when you have a delicious dinner waiting in the garden. But the washing is onerous. Hope the skies are clear.

    • katechiconi says:

      The laundry would have been less trying if I hadn’t left the house with half a basket of it already waiting. But clear sunny skies mean that it’s mostly dry, and will finish drying tomorrow. The best thing about coming home, though, was our supremely comfortable bed!

  5. Delicious… My courgettes are somewhat more abundant… just off to roast some for freezing… and to take a photo of my ‘equipment’!!

  6. tialys says:

    I like the idea that some blogs ‘went Turkish’. Is it a bit like ‘going native’?
    I don’t know many more times can I use my favourite word on your blog without sounding repetitive but your veggies really do look LUSH.

    • katechiconi says:

      It was extremely disconcerting! Everything except what I’d personally written was in Turkish. I’d call that going native, myself. Do continue to give Lush an airing, I take it as a compliment!

  7. Kirsten says:

    Looking yummy! I have been eating the blueberries from the garden almost every day for breakfast for the last week. The cherries are also lovely and dark and falling off the tree. Unfortunately they are still quite sour! Not sure whether to turn them into pie filling or jam. We still have jam from last years harvest. Maybe a healthy soaking in some liquor will sweeten them up?!

    • katechiconi says:

      Pie it is, I think, if you still have jam. I don’t think soaking in alcohol will make the cherries sweeter, but it’ll certainly do lots for the booze, and fishing them out after and coating with dark chocolate would be my choice!

      • Kirsten says:

        Ooo, now there is an idea! I love those Kirsch chocolates that usually appear at Christmas time – the ones with a cherry in the middle surround by a pool of alcohol that burst when you bite it. Maybe I should have a go at making some. Will have to purchase an appropriate mould first.

  8. mlwilkie says:

    Sounds great…my garden is coming along too. We have had some yellow squash, cucumbers and just got our first tomatoes. My zuchinni’s have been a little slow though 🙂

  9. dayphoto says:

    Your winter is so lovely there…it matches our spring and summer here.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  10. Lynda says:

    I didn’t get to garden this year, but I sure can appreciate yours! Lovely, Kate!

  11. katechiconi says:

    Tasted pretty fine too!

Leave a Reply

