A hazard to sitting

Screen shot 2014-06-28 at 4.49.19 PMWhen I emigrated to Australia 1o years ago, I left behind me the vast majority of my worldly possessions.

I reasoned that it would cost more to ship my furniture, bookshelves, fridge and washing machine than it would to buy new ones here, more suited to the climate and my living conditions. I was right, but it was a spartan beginning. I had 5 cubic metres of stuff. Most of it books, pictures, lamps, household linen, rugs, mirrors, china and glass; all the things that makes a place yours. I brought exactly two pieces of furniture, one easy chair and one Regency mahogany swivel top card table that had belonged to my mother and without which I wasn’t going anywhere. I’d done my homework on that table, eaten off that table, played games on that table. It was coming too.

The result was the Shopping Trip of All Time, when I finally moved into the house I bought the day after I arrived, and subsequently spent 6 weeks renovating. A bed, chests of drawers, tables, chairs, pots, pans. The whole kit and caboodle. But the best buy of the lot was my sofa. It’s handsome, comfortable, sturdy, elegant, has washable covers, and best of all, it came flat packed. Yes, my friends, it came from Ikea. Anyone turning up their nose and making disparaging remarks at this point may go and play quietly in the corner.  It has done sterling service, and continues to do so. But it tempts me to bad habits.

Screen shot 2014-06-28 at 4.49.57 PMWhich brings me to the title of this post. Bear with me, this really is going somewhere. I’m doing a lot of hand sewing at the moment. “No, really?” you cry. That will be quite enough sarcasm, thank you…. I have to change thread colour on a reasonably regular basis, and am surrounded by the tools of my activity: small scissors, papers, fabric, two reels of thread, needle threader, two needles, etc. On two separate occasions in the last week, I have lost a needle in the sofa, due mainly to my bad habit of parking them in the arm of the sofa whilst not in use. And I rediscovered them later. Painfully. In the part of me that does the sitting. Hence the title…

Screen shot 2014-06-28 at 4.50.10 PMI have a pincushion, but it it’s not very exciting. It’s also a bit barrel shaped and rolls about annoyingly. It was time for a more satisfactory solution. One of my many scrap boxes produced the materials, I took a break from embroidery, and suddenly the needles are coralled, my hinder end is safe and I can once again hurl myself into the depth of my lovely sofa with a peaceful mind.

Back to the embroidery hoop, then.

30 thoughts on “A hazard to sitting

  1. I need a crochet hook and scissors cushion because our sofa (also from Ikea and doing well after 14 years) eats them. At least they are not as hazardous as needles!

    • katechiconi says:

      But one still wouldn’t want to sit on them. Perhaps I could make you a holster for over the arm of the sofa, like the one I made for our remote controls, which were always being eaten by the sofa. What size scissors, and how many crochet hooks…?

      • Thank you! I have a tiny pair of scissors – just under 4 inches long, with 1 inch blades and I generally have two to four hooks/sets of 15cm dpns on the go, my hooks have fat handles, with a circumference of about one and a half inches.
        Better order the yarn I have found for your string bag!

      • katechiconi says:

        Right, I shall go and draw something. Also, remember my cylindrical box made from CDs? If I made a taller one with a hole in the top, would it be useful as something to zip a ball of yarn into, feed the end through the hole and have the ball safely kept away from cats, dogs, furniture legs and tripping husbands?

      • It would… I have a ceramic yarn bowl, but it’s not exactly good for travelling with!!

      • katechiconi says:

        Well, I think I can see what my next two mini-makes are going to be!

  2. Tracey R says:

    I recognise those beautiful scraps!

    • katechiconi says:

      I thought you might! I was thinking about you and the quilt while I stitched away at the pincushion. Maybe I can make you something from the scraps of Amistad?

  3. Emmely says:

    I am always worried that will happen (to my boyfriend) when I sew on the couch, although I do not put pins or needles in the couch intentionally…

  4. rutigt says:

    Our first sofa was from IKEA! We visit the store every now and then, loosing our money on something nice. 🙂 There are so many things you want to buy!
    Your pincushion is very Beautiful!
    Gun, Sweden

  5. cecilia says:

    ow! I need a pin cushion too.. this is beautiful.. oh and i LOVE Ikea!

    • katechiconi says:

      Right, one Farmy pincushion coming up! Any colour requests?

      • cecilia says:

        I must tell you, your fly hat came the other day and it is PERFECT for bee keeping on a hot day for my visitors. On it went and eyes were safe as they watched me work.. thank you SO much! You really are a star. The timing was perfect. I just think pin cushions are pretty, my mother used to have one that wrapped attached to her wrist. .. kind of like mumsy bondage!.. c

      • katechiconi says:

        So glad it was useful – I didn’t need it any more and was happy to pass it on. My mother had a wrist pincushion too, a large red felt strawberry attached by thick black elastic.

  6. Lovely pincushion! I don’t need one but it would be a great mini project for me to to try hand piecing patchwork. My bookcases are from IKEA. They are cheap, plain and hold lots of books without the shelves bending 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Mine too! I can’t understand why people are so disparaging about Ikea. They produce nice looking furniture and homewares which last reasonably well if you look after them, they’re well designed, easy to put together and inexpensive. The hand pieced pincushion was fun, but I think the next one will be mainly machine sewn – just for speed!

  7. Ouch!
    I stick pins into my Ikea sofa cushions too, but if I drop a needle or pin I hunt and hunt and hunt until I find it. I know it will be my husband’s bare feet that make the discovery otherwise.
    We had to buy an Ikea sofa for the upstairs living room as it has a freakishly small door. Three cheers for furniture that comes in pieces that fit through small doors!
    I like how you have fussy-cut the hexagons to re-create the flower!

  8. katechiconi says:

    Now you see, it takes a quilter to notice that stuff! The Husband glanced at it and assumed the flower was all in one piece, I’d just cut round it. I made the pin cushion nice and big too, so that when I’m groping blindly for somewhere to put the needle, my attention fixed on something that’s going to come apart if I let go, I have a large target. It means I can also attach a safety pin onto which I can clip my tiny scissors and they don’t disappear down the cushions either…

  9. Jule says:

    I’m parking my needles either in the project itself or in the tablecloth (a nice Danish tea towel) to prevent certain accidents. 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      There is certainly a lot of shared experience with needle injuries in the quilting/sewing/embroidering community! And it’s not just needles: scissors, pins, crochet hooks, knitting needles…

  10. Kaja says:

    I stick my pins into the leg of my jeans, so can’t sit on them, but that doesn’t mean I avoid injuring myself. I love this site – your quilts, your garden and especially the way you write about it all.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much, and welcome to Chiconia. I’m so happy you decided to comment; lots of people don’t, they just visit, read and go away again, and it’s good to know that what I’ve written has been enjoyed.

  11. tialys says:

    Wow! This was a popular post – sorry to be late to the party.
    Lovely pincushion – I have any number of them scattered about the place as I find one is never enough. I don’t generally sew in the living areas of the house as there are too many dogs competing for space.

    Ikea is great but, in common with many men, my husband hates going there although is usually impressed with the way things go together. I find them great for bedding, rugs, crockery and even fabric as well as basic furnishings like shelves.

    • katechiconi says:

      The Husband of Chiconia is unusual in that he quite enjoys visits to Ikea, particularly now I’ve shown him the shortcut from the entrance straight through to the market hall! In any event, it’s on our regular schedule when we make a trip south.

  12. tialys says:

    Yes! Best miss out the route marked by arrows which leads you through all the areas whether you want to look at babys’ cots and framed prints or not.

  13. mihrank says:

    wow, so beautiful blog!!! Bravo!!

Leave a Reply

