Steampunk Wheel XI: time for a breather

Screen shot 2014-06-25 at 10.26.50 PMI have perhaps been spending a little too much time with this quilt… But I’m loving every minute of it!

So now that it’s complete out to Ring 3, I’m going to put it aside for a while. A couple of days, at least. Probably….

Screen shot 2014-06-25 at 10.27.18 PM

Detail of the silver bling

I need to do some work on my Wedding Sampler, which has been sitting neglected while I raced through Happiness, Broken Bottles and the start of Amistad. It’s not a big piece, but there’s a lot of counting and rather small stitches, so I need to devote proper attention to it. Plus I’m now in a Stitch Along with three other stitching ladies, so there’s some small but good pressure to actually make progress! I’ll be reserving my tah-dah! photos for the link up day on 29 June.

And after 6 June, I should be in possession of Mrs R’s blocks for Amistad, so I’ll be doing some work on that too. Time to broaden my focus again; too much time doing micro stitches on small pieces of fabric under strong light gives you a sore back and a short fuse!

More soon.

13 thoughts on “Steampunk Wheel XI: time for a breather

  1. Kirsten says:

    I think I prefer the colours of this ring to the first one. It’s going to be amazing once it is all joined up.

  2. tialys says:

    Aha! You’ve decided to do a ‘stitch along’ have you? Is it a quilt?

  3. Love those colours – this is going to be a wonderful quilt

    • katechiconi says:

      I already have the combination for the next one in my mind. But first, a break for something else, and then I have to finish this one, which is only about 2/3 done.

  4. rutigt says:

    Looking good! I know the feeling….must sew one more ring and one more and one more……….. 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

  5. So many rings! Lord … no … LADY of the rings!

  6. Elizabeth says:

    I love the fabric choices in this ring! I’m trying to teach myself to quilt, but I’m afraid to make a cut! Guess I better get over it!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s the only way! It’s only fabric, but once you’ve cut and sewn it, it becomes something more… I’m self taught too, but once I had the bug, I became unstoppable. I’ll be picking Steampunk back up when I’m home from my trip at the weekend, and I’ll probably also be doing some work on the other one I have in progress just now, Amistad.

Leave a Reply

