The Gardens of Chiconia 17: winter flowers

I’m not talking about the big, flamboyant stuff that flourishes in my tropical garden.

I’m talking about flowers that mean FOOD!Screen shot 2014-06-24 at 3.17.14 PMScreen shot 2014-06-24 at 3.18.03 PMScreen shot 2014-06-24 at 3.17.46 PMScreen shot 2014-06-24 at 3.17.27 PM

Screen shot 2014-06-24 at 3.18.42 PMOh, there are other flowers too, most notably on things that are not normally known for their flowers…. I’m waiting to see what this is going to do next. I’ve never seen one flower before.

Screen shot 2014-06-24 at 3.18.54 PMAnd the sun is doing a great job of cranking out the rays that are feeding watts into our new solar power system.

Screen shot 2014-06-24 at 3.18.26 PM

Just LOOK at the colour of those new leaves

The avocado tree has replaced almost its entire canopy (rather a grand term for such a little tree), and has almost doubled the size of it at the same time. The lychee is putting on a massive burst of new growth.  I’m quietly hoping either or both of them may show willing with the odd flower or fruit in spring.

Right, outdoor interlude over. Back to the kitchen.

20 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 17: winter flowers

  1. tialys says:

    All very lush.
    You seem to have solved the problem of inserting text between photos.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s that lovely word again! I’ve learned how to juggle the photos. They automatically all squish themselves in at the top, and then I have to cut and paste them into position with varying degrees of success. Sometimes I just can’t make it do what I want it to look like. Très frustrant….

  2. alisonsye says:

    Hope you get a good harvest 🙂

  3. EllaDee says:

    Interesting I also didn’t know and have never seen mother-in-laws tongue flowers either… you are doing something very right. The big chill is apparently about to hit us down south, so I hope that makes you enjoy your lovely weather even more.

    • katechiconi says:

      As far as the mother in laws tongue is concerned, it’s a regime of benign neglect. Our forecast is set for low 20s celsius during the day, and mid teens at night. It’s quite nice to put a blanket on the bed and wear long sleeves occasionally.

      • tialys says:

        Low 20s! Long sleeves? I was reading last Friday’s newspaper from the U.K. that Mr. T brings home with him, that the weather in Britain was set to be 23 celsius at the weekend – prompting the excited headlines ‘get the sun cream out for a glorious weekend’ and ‘Britain set to be as hot as Morocco’. How soon we forget!

      • katechiconi says:

        Indeed! I laugh when I talk to my brother in Sussex and he complains about a hot day which would just be nice spring weather for us!

  4. I’m slightly frustrated that your winter harvest is not going to be much different from my summer one! Looks like you could do with some female flowers on those courgettes or it’s going to be courgette flower fritters all the way! It’s strange that they do generally produce abundant male flowers before the female ones come… it’s not as if there’s anything fr them to pollinate!

    • katechiconi says:

      I took a gamble only having two plants, but with only two of us to eat them, I really couldn’t face the glut we’d face if I had more. I’m hoping at least one will oblige with a female or two, I’m counting on ratatouille later on! Meanwhile, they are pretty!

  5. dayphoto says:

    Terry is very interested in going to solar power…so far he hasn’t been able to find a system that he likes.

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • katechiconi says:

      We are only hoping to generate enough to take the mean edge off our power bill in the summer, when the aircon’s going all day and the fridge has to work extra hard. We have 12 panels; going fully solar would need about 20. And we have the array split east/west so we get a better power spread during the day. We use about 20kW a day, and at peak can generate about 15-18kW. Less in the winter, of course, but then we don’t need heating, so our power bill is much lower.

  6. Kirsten says:

    I got a little confused reading this post (easily done) and thought you were being a little bit ironic about what flowers the solar power system was going to produce, because I thought the writing referred to the photo underneath! Silly me.

  7. I’ve recently noticed the indoor Mother-in-laws’s Tongues flowering in Sydney too- at first I thought the flowers were fake! Your veggie garden is looking wonderful.

    • katechiconi says:

      Mine currently has three or four flower spikes waiting to open. Knowing my luck, they’ll do so just as I go away for 6 days, just like the zucchini will be exactly the right size to pick while I’m away and will be marrows by the time I get back. I’m pre-empting the Chinese cabbage and bok choi by picking early for a Sunday night stir fry on the eve of departure!

Leave a Reply

