Steampunk Wheel XI: good to go

I took the day off yesterday and devoted myself to having fun, mostly involving the new scooter, sunshine, open roads and a really fabulous teahouse in the country. So today I was back and ready to get cracking with Wheel XI.

Screen shot 2014-06-23 at 4.44.22 PM

Detail, Wheel XI. Copyright 2014 Jule Bandholz. Do not pin, copy or otherwise reproduce this image or the original without the permission of the owner.

This photo is a close up of Jule’s version of Wheel XI. That’s 222 pieces. Not one but two rows of the stars I wrestled with. I found it hard to work on all the dark colours in Wheel VIII in artificial light, so I thought for this one I’d give my eyes a rest and work in lighter colours…

This time, it’s going to be silver, pewter, black and verdigris. But mostly silver. I’ll also remind myself not to panic when the stars look awful before the final point goes on.

Screen shot 2014-06-23 at 4.43.01 PM

Unfortunately, my cranky insides disagreed about how the day should be spent, so I don’t have a great deal of progress to report. I have sorted and cut a load more papers for the central star and Rings 1-5 and I have cut fabrics for the star and rings 1-4. Everything is bagged and ready for me to get out my needle and thread this evening.

At least I can do some hand work this evening…

12 thoughts on “Steampunk Wheel XI: good to go

  1. You sound like a woman on a mission!

  2. tialys says:

    It’s good to take some time away from a project now and again – then you can go back to it with renewed vigour. Either that or you can lose impetus and have to force yourself to go back to it – I’m talking about a cardigan with only one sleeve at the moment and a dress that only needs hemming and it’s finished – but maybe that’s just me 😉

    Looking forward to seeing the silver wheel.

    • katechiconi says:

      My problem is actually tearing myself away from this seriously addictive project. Yesterday’s outing was too good to miss, though. Today’s episode of coeliac flare up was less fun….

  3. Kirsten says:

    You said this one was going to take you a while to complete but at the rate you are going you’ll be finished before you know it!

  4. Prepping is half the work, so you got heaps done. I hope you feel better soon!

    • katechiconi says:

      I have already worked my way through the contents of two baggies. The next one is the beast with the weeny triangles, and I’m going to need daylight, so I’d better crack on. The insides have settled; a little bit of stray gluten made itself felt in a big way. Accidents will happen, all it takes is a toast crumb or something equally small…

  5. Jule says:

    Glad you’re feeling better. This project seems a little, just slightly, addictive. 😉 If you go on at this speed, you will have finished the project before I have mine. 🙂 Full steam(punk) ahead!

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re absolutely right. It is addictive, and I fully admit it! There’s something so satisfying about seeing the wheels grow. However, I haven’t forgotten that I’m due to show progress for the Wedding Sampler for the SAL on 29 June, so at some stage I have to put this down and pick that up.

Leave a Reply

