Steampunk Wheel VIII: completed!

Screen shot 2014-06-21 at 8.22.53 PM
I meant to have this ready yesterday in time for a Friday Finish, but events conspired against me.

Screen shot 2014-06-21 at 8.23.14 PMAfter a short period of doubt in the middle, I now love this, and it has given me so many ideas for how I want to finish the whole quilt when it’s done. The piecing is just the beginning; there’s a world of embellishment detail boiling away in my brain, and I fear some of it involves metallic quilting thread… There isn’t much doubt that this item is going to be way, way OTT.

The finished size is going to be about 65 x 48″; it will be too small for a bed, and in any case, all the beds in my house are already fully burdened with quilts and to spare. I will not be able to bear giving it away. So it will have to be a hanging. And I have a real problem with where it might hang in this small house with already too many pictures and bookcases.

Still, that’s a problem for another day.

 

25 thoughts on “Steampunk Wheel VIII: completed!

  1. Such gorgeousness! It really is going to be a fabulous creation!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think it may! I’m already planning the next one, Wheel XI, which is going to be greys and silvers. It’s the other big one, 222 pieces in all, mainly because it has an extra (if incomplete) ring. Wheel VIII was only 160, so I think XI may take me a bit longer.

  2. Emmely says:

    You really are “steaming” ahead! I’m sure it will turn out great when finished.

  3. tialys says:

    Wherever it ends up it’s going to look fab.

  4. Buy a new house? Build an extension? Ok, so neither suggestion is sensible, but I am sure you will find a wall to hang it on.

  5. rutigt says:

    Good work!! I´ve just finnished wheel 7. Coming up soon on a blog near you 🙂 Next week or so!
    Gun, Sweden

  6. EllaDee says:

    It’s gorgeous, like a kaleidoscope. It’s an issue to make and/or find lovely things and bring them home… the space, or lack thereof… what can be shuffled or removed. It will come to you.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think the key word here is ‘shuffling’… The trouble with bookshelves is that you lose wallspace for hanging artworks. The trouble with artworks is that you lose wallspace for books. And I suppose one needs the odd door and window…

  7. Nanette says:

    Gorgeous Kate, truly gorgeous.

  8. claire93 says:

    wow I love the colours

  9. Oh no!!! Every time I see these blocks I want to make them and I will one day…..I have to!! This one is gorgeous 🙂

  10. wombatquilts says:

    Kate this really just keeps getting more and more fabulous.

  11. Kirsten says:

    Maybe as it progresses it’s intended home will become apparent?

Leave a Reply

