Steampunk Wheel VIII, another ring

I’ve not had much time for hand sewing in the last couple of days.

My progress on Steampunk isn’t very impressive, due to whole lists of other things I had to do. I did get the second vegie cage netting sewn, so now there are two raised beds of pampered vegetables with their Sleeping Beauty four poster curtains…

Screen shot 2014-06-16 at 6.47.56 PMAnyway, I’ve got Ring 2 done. The fabric that looks scarily bright orange under artificial light is actually quite a pleasant rust colour, and will be put firmly in its place once Ring 3 goes in, perhaps as early as tomorrow. But I have to tell you, those weeny triangles are murder. It’s a bit daunting that there are so many of them in the overall design. Still, I suppose I’ll get better at them with practice.

More soon.

8 thoughts on “Steampunk Wheel VIII, another ring

  1. Barbara says:

    Yes, I now see what you mean by Victorian dramatic!

    Barbara XXX.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. tialys says:

    ‘not very impressive’? Well, I’m impressed.

    • katechiconi says:

      All those dratted triangles. A recipe for snarling and growling at one’s hand work. If it had been pentagons or hexagons I’d have made much better progress….

  3. rutigt says:

    I do have the same problem 🙂 They are just too small and too many, but when I sew them together with the other pieces, my templates suddenly growes! Some of them just don´t fit any more, wonder why LOL!
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      One of my fabrics is a little bit thicker than the others, and I find that makes a big difference. But it’s so nice, I have to keep it in. And today I have forgiven the tiny triangles because of what the next ring looks like…

  4. Jule says:

    Tiny? 😀 I agree they are many, but usually I’m working with pieces that are the same size or smaller. 🙂 And the thickness of the fabric definitely makes a big difference.

  5. katechiconi says:

    To be honest, it’s the shape rather than the size that annoys me! The sharp point is a little difficult to manage, but I’m getting better at it. I shall definitely bear in mind that they will perform better in a thin, closely woven fabric.

Leave a Reply

