Steampunk: Wheel VIII progress

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 2.56.03 PM
It will not surprise my friends to learn that I haven’t been able to put down this project.

The only thing that has stopped me is bad light. An occupational hazard of sewing black to black, with black, in artificial light. I resumed my stitchery this morning in daylight, and it has gone much better.

Screen shot 2014-06-13 at 2.55.35 PMThe centre star is finished. Ring 1 is finished. I’m now preparing the pieces for Ring 2. This is going to be a tricky one, as it contains 70 pieces, 50 of which are TINY. I’m looking forward to the sense of achievement when it’s done, but the intervening process is going to try my patience and probably cause some bad language!

Short post today; the electricity is about to be switched off, as we are having 12 solar panels fitted on the roof.

More soon.

7 thoughts on “Steampunk: Wheel VIII progress

  1. tialys says:

    I can really sense your excitement with this project.
    Let me know how the solar panel business goes on – our roof needs some work and we’re wondering whether to put some panels in while we’re at it. Are you hoping for it to power water heating or more?

    • katechiconi says:

      We already have solar hot water, it would be mad not to in this climate. They are installing 12 panels on the roof, 6 on the east side for morning sun, and 6 on the west for afternoon sun. We’re not expecting to do away with the electricity bill altogether, but it should be greatly reduced, especially if I run the big appliances during the hours of sunshine.

  2. rutigt says:

    Ah…. what an exciting, mysterious star! It looks great!
    Gun, Sweden

    • katechiconi says:

      What I love about this design is how different it looks for everyone, depending on their colour choice. The idea for mine only exists in my head, and it’s hard to communicate what I envisage without making the whole thing.

  3. wombatquilts says:

    70 pieces, that sounds like the sort of crazy I might do!

    • katechiconi says:

      Then I find myself in distinguished company! And it’s only the first of many. I’m labouring with weeny triangles an inch high and half an inch wide, and I just want it to stop. Four more to go and then I can finish this ring and power ahead with ring 3.

Leave a Reply

