Enter Steampunk

I’m feeling the need for a handwork project since I finished Isfahan.
(https://talltalesfromchiconia.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/isfahan-isfa-hinished)

I had a look at the To Do List, and Steampunk jumped out. It’s EPP, complex, and has the potential to keep me quiet for absolutely ages. Not a bad thing, perhaps…

Here’s a link to the original concept, a design called Mother Earth by Evelyn Zuber, featured in Burda Patchwork from Autumn, 2013. Sorry, the site’s in German, but that shouldn’t stop you looking at the pictures. It’s the second one down on the page:

http://www.hobbyschneiderin24.net/portal/showthread.php?t=170638

I’ve had it in my mind to do this quilt for a long time, since I saw a fellow blogger work on it, but I didn’t want to do it in the original colourway shown in the magazine, nor the beautiful colours she’s using. If I get permission, I’ll post either a photo or a link to her version so you can see what a magnificent job she’s done. She was very kind and helpful in providing templates, guidance and translations from the original German pattern.

The shapes and arrangement made me think of Victorian Gothic-style engineering, where wrought iron gears and cog wheels were highly decorated and painted, or perhaps the tiny brass cogs inside a watch. That in turn made me think of the style known as Steampunk, hence the name. I’m going for a completely different look: black, charcoal, copper, gold, silver, pewter, verdigris and rust. There’ll be metallics, batiks, geometrics and brocade prints. I haven’t a clue how all of this is going to come together, but there’s a whirling impression in my mind which wants to come out, so away we go. I’m not quite sure who’s driving this one, me or the quilt!

Here’s the fabric selection.

Screen shot 2014-06-10 at 12.15.18 PM

Black, charcoal, gunmetal and golds

Screen shot 2014-06-10 at 12.15.52 PM

Copper, brass, rust and verdigris

Screen shot 2014-06-10 at 12.15.35 PM

Silver, bronze and antique metal patina

I have a number of card templates to produce, and then I can draw round those onto heavy cartridge paper to make my piecing papers. Luckily I’ll be able to recycle some of them as I go; I dislike wasting paper. Now all I have to do is decide which cog to start with!

Oh, after I’ve pressed all the fabrics of course… 😦

21 thoughts on “Enter Steampunk

  1. mihrank says:

    Reblogged this on mihran Kalaydjian and commented:
    Enter Steampunk

  2. tialys says:

    I like the idea of cogs and wheels and the first lot of fabrics, in particular, look really well suited to that design. It looks like it’s quite heavily quilted!! 😮

    • katechiconi says:

      I think the original is, but I won’t be quilting so much. This isn’t a bed quilt, it’s a wall quilt, so it doesn’t need to be stabilised so much. I envisage most of the wheels being fairly dark with only highlights of the other colours.

  3. Nanette says:

    A stunning quilt Kate, looking forward to watching your progress. I like your fabric choices.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s funny how much colour choices affect your attitude. I wouldn’t dream of doing the quilt in the original colour scheme, but make it dark, moody and gothic, and suddenly it catches my imagination!

  4. Dark and moody quilts… who’d have thought?!

  5. Jule says:

    Permission granted 🙂 Your colour choice is fantastic.

  6. claire says:

    gorgeous fabrics ^^
    Avis tells me you’re going to stitch along with our SAL (along with Gun and Jule) – welcome on board !

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! Yes, I decided it was time to get a little discipline into my scheduling! I’ve been neglecting my embroidery project for a long time, and this seemed like a perfect opportunity to get back to it. Looking forward to joining in on 29 June.

  7. Kirsten says:

    Ooo, ooo, ooo *jumping up and down in my chair* – I am very excited by this one! I am looking forward to seeing it progress. I love the fabrics and the circular design – just like cogs as you said. I am fascinated by Steampunk, even though it doesn’t sit with my usual pastel and floral loving self. I think it appeals to my dark side.

    What does EPP mean?

  8. I look forward to see te end product !

  9. […] So I’ve brought forward a project I’ve been planning for a while. It should have been Steampunk, but there are too many tiny pieces to lose, and I need a table to lay things out on so I can keep […]

Leave a Reply

