Winter in the tropics

Green outside. White inside. Isn’t that the wrong way round for winter…?

It’s white inside because I’m making the netting cages for the vegie beds, using white mosquito netting, which has a mind of its own. Which is putting it mildly. And it’s everywhere. I have one cage finished. It’s by way of being a test piece, to make sure the concept works. If it does the job once pulled down over the frame, I’ll repeat the process with the other two frames. We’ve rethought the tops of the cages. The aluminium frame we cut off is just too heavy to form the top of the cage and the whole arrangement just lurched around and was a bit unmanageable for a person of modest stature. Me, that is. The Husband was just fine with it, but as he’s not the gardener that wasn’t helpful. He’s very handy for the heavy lifting, though! Anyway, I digress. A $5 roll of garden hose, some cable ties and a pair of secateurs later, it was sorted.

And here’s the reason for all this labour. The babies are growing, and fast!  They’re sweet, juicy and tender, and need protection from marauding everything. I have not done all this work to open the Grasshopper Juice Place, or the Fruit Bat Fruit Bar.

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.31.41 PM

Flowers on the snow peas

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.32.00 PM

Rocket and Chinese cabbage

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.32.19 PM

Megalomaniac strawberries

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.32.38 PM

Bok choi

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.33.00 PM

Flower buds on my Long Yellow capsicum

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.33.12 PM

So this is the season tomatoes prefer

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.33.25 PM

Green beans, powering ahead

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.33.39 PM

Butter beans, which I love

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.34.08 PM

The new, lighter cage frames

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.34.22 PM

Lots of new growth on the lychee

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.35.13 PM

The pruning has done the lime good

Screen shot 2014-06-07 at 4.35.50 PM

I can’t get my hands around the banana tree any longer…

Remember, it’s early winter here. Undeterred, the vegies are powering ahead. We have flowers on the snow peas and flower buds appearing on the capsicums. The butter beans, green beans and tomatoes are twice the size they were when they went in.The rocket, bok choi and Chinese cabbage are looking great, the spinach is taking its time, the lettuces are not very happy, the strawberries are making a bid for world domination, and the wee rhubarb has sent out three new leaves on tiny slender ruby red stems.

Tomorrow I’m getting out the seed box to see what other goodies might still be waiting for a go in the raised bed.

11 thoughts on “Winter in the tropics

  1. anne54 says:

    That all looks fantastic. Fingers crossed that your cages work (although no reason why they shouldn’t) because you certainly don’t want to be sharing with any critters.

    • katechiconi says:

      Normally I’d accept a certain degree of loss due to insects because I don’t spray, but here they’re so big and so greedy I could lose the lot in one go. Hence the protection. Let’s hope it does the trick!

  2. tialys says:

    I hope it does work after all your efforts!

  3. wauw !! your veggies and fruit grow soooo fast !!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Good weather, good soil, good food. If I’m lucky, I can take two crops off the raised beds before it gets really hot again.

      • I so would love to live in Australia, and not only for the good weather, it is getting so terribly overcrowded here ! We have 350 people per square km whereasAustralia has just 3 per square km !

      • katechiconi says:

        Thing is, so much of the land here is desert, and not really inhabitable. Most of our population is clustered around the coastline!

      • I know a big part of Australia is uninhabitable, I’ve seen many docu’s about Australia and series like flying doctors, but it is a beautiful country full of wildlife and lovely plants and beaches, I LOVE beaches ! not for getting a tan but I love reading a book in a chair under a tree or an umbrella with a cool drink….the sound and the smell of the sea ! but I am soooooo scared of the sharks !! I don’t even want to dip my toes in the sea !!!

  4. Nanette says:

    All that hard work is paying off……such a satisfying feeling, yes?

Leave a Reply

