Hell’s Granny!

Much excitement in Chiconia!

We picked up our new scooter! We’re selling the ute, which is dreadfully under-used, keeping the other car but having a tow ball fitted, and the scooter is for the Husband to commute with or for me if he needs the car that day. It would be cynical to suggest that I won’t be able to shop as much due to lack of space to cart things home… Anyway, I digress. It’s a Piaggio BV350, and here’s what it looks like: http://piaggio.com.au/product/beverly-350.

It also has a top box on the back with a nice padded backrest so the passenger can lounge back and admire the view. That’s me, just to clear up any doubt… At least, when we’re both on it together. I’ve had a full motorbike licence for years, and have had bigger bikes in the past, but it’s been a long time, and now that I’ve reached the age of (in)discretion and arthritis, I no longer want to fling my leg over something bigger and faster. As step-throughs go, this is fairly hairy-chested, it has good acceleration even with our substantial combined weight on board, and it’s supremely comfortable. It has electronic ignition, LED lights and a huge storage compartment under the seat. And best of all, it’s red. So, you lot out there, tremble! Hell’s Granny and Grandpa are out for a cruise.

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at 7.14.50 PMScreen shot 2014-06-05 at 7.15.03 PMTo return to slightly less testosterone-laden subjects, my sewing has been slightly sidelined. However, I have got one side of the tea cosy finished, and I’m quite pleased with how it’s looking. I still have to bind the top edge with a channel for a draw cord. The bottom edge is already done, but for the top I have to make bias tape because the curve is sharp, and I simply haven’t had time, what with the scooter and also making bread, a cheese and vegie flan and jam tarts for dessert, a couple of loads of laundry, a big heap of pruning in the garden, etc.

Tomorrow I have a big construction job planned. The frames over the raised beds in the vegie garden are ready, and we can now make the netting ‘sock’ that slips down over the frame to exclude birds, insects, possums, fruitbats and other predators.  I do realise that this means I’ll have to hand pollinate my zucchini, but that has the advantage of allowing me to control numbers too!  Mozzie netting is what we’re using, in white to allow diffuse light through.  The side and front panels on each frame will have an overlap to allow me to get in there and work without letting the nasties in, and I’m going to sew fishing weights into the hems to make them hang down straight and prevent the wind flapping them around. I looked at weighted curtain tape but the cost was iniquitous, and this is a much cheaper if slightly more time consuming solution.

The real question, though, is whether I’ll allow myself to be distracted by scooters, tea cosies or any of the other fabulous trivia with which I surround myself…

 

 

18 thoughts on “Hell’s Granny!

  1. mihrank says:

    wow – beautiful so rich information!

  2. Kirsten says:

    “I no longer want to fling my leg over something bigger and faster” – ooo err! That made me chuckle. Love the idea of you and The Husband tearing up the tarmac on your scooter. I hope you have appropriately decorated helmets?!

  3. tialys says:

    I thought that with age came the completely impractical, low slung sports cars that nobody young can afford. Drat! I’m not a scooter fan – I want to fling my leg over a porsche.

    • katechiconi says:

      Cars don’t do much for me. Back in the day I could be seen drooling gently over particular bikes. These days, I keep my drool to myself, but I still find two wheels fun. And this is a perfect climate for it.

  4. The cosy is coming along beautifully.
    Please say you have a hot pink or red helmet – or other bright and garish colour – for your scooter. I know I would. It would make it go faster.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m afraid the helmet is matte black, a remnant of my Big Bike days, when pink or red would have been an absolute no-no… I agree that a red helmet, preferably with flames up the side, would definitely improve my speed!

  5. Ah, (in)discretion with something fairly hairy. Sounds like an excellent distraction.

  6. EllaDee says:

    Step-through is tempting but then I would deprive the public of their free amusement watching me ungracefully climb on the back of the G.O.’s motorbike… If we had known we were going to stay in Sydney for so long, we would have bought a scooter years ago – less hassle to find aprtment building parking space for than the big bike (which is exiled to the country) and so convenient for zipping around on weekends.
    But I’m slightly envious, you will have so much fun cruising, at speed – red ones go faster 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Don’t you find that getting on the back of a big bike gets even harder when there’s a top box? Yes, you have something to lean against, but in the mean time, getting your leg through the gap between box and bloke is virtually impossible for me now with arthriticky hips and knees. Hence the step through, where I get on first, scoot backwards and then he gets on and away we go. I have to tell you, this is a very fun scooter, and of course red goes faster, it’s a well know fact!

  7. anne54 says:

    I have visions of you customising the scooter — patchwork seating? Patchwork lining for the storage boxes? Cushions? Surely at least a patchwork pennant to fly from somewhere? 😀

  8. katechiconi says:

    Over the Husband’s lifeless body! He’s going to have to take it to work too, and I can’t see him celebrating all things patchwork in that context! Perhaps a patchwork helmet bag for me… He can then have my plain black one!

  9. Helena says:

    Hi I’ve been following along with your blog for a while and just wanted to say hello. I live in Scotland, also have arthritis, but have a huge veggie garden and flower garden which are a LOT of work! Just tickled me today hearing about your insect cages cos we are also building fruit cage and cloches but it’s the difference in what we are trying to keep out that is so different, no possums or fruit bats here!! I just find it fascinating the different things we grow in such far away places. I Enjoy the sewing too!

    • katechiconi says:

      Hi Helena, welcome to Chiconia. I don’t envy you your winters! Down here in northern Queensland, we’re blessed with being able to grow tomatoes in the winter, but we’re cursed with giant and miniature grasshoppers, caterpillars, moths and others of that ilk, plus the aforementioned possums and fruitbats. I can’t kneel or bend too much, hence the raised beds you may have noticed. I’ve spent part of the day cutting out panels of mosquito netting, but after a while the floor took a toll on my knees and I had to stop. More tomorrow, probably… I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog, even the sewing bits!

  10. Hand pollinating will also mean you can seed save and know what the progeny will be… I assume you are not growing F1 hybrids?

Leave a Reply

