Another one in the bag

It wasn’t supposed to happen.

Screen shot 2014-06-03 at 10.49.16 PMIt isn’t even on the List.

But I’m really glad it did.

Screen shot 2014-06-03 at 10.49.40 PMScreen shot 2014-06-03 at 10.50.16 PMScreen shot 2014-06-03 at 10.51.14 PMScreen shot 2014-06-03 at 10.51.44 PMI was tidying up after making the Box of Scraps and came across this bamboo handle and the magnetic clip. “Bag”, it said to me, insistently. “No, no”, I replied, “I have other priorities”. But it kept nagging. After a bit of rather token resistance and a cup of coffee and bickie, I gave in.

I love the combination of bright and dark. I adore this Philip Jacobs geranium leaf print in sunny yellow, pink and green. I love the delicate shaded damask pattern in the black. I love the black bamboo handles. I had the bits, I had the fabric, away we go. Three hours later, I had I bag a really love, which I think is going to displace my current favourite, the pink half-circle basket with round handles. I’m a little bit pleased with the fully lined zip pocket, which I sewed in at top and bottom only instead of all round because I thought it might be handy to be able to put something behind it. And I’ve given the bag a substantial base so it stands there by itself instead of flopping over.

So, not much progress with the List. But I do have a very nice new handbag, and not a penny poorer.

16 thoughts on “Another one in the bag

  1. Sarah says:

    I am so impressed you made that in 3 hours! It’s beautiful!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thing is, it’s actually amazingly simple. The colours are what make it look good. Plus it does help to have made a bag or two before, so I can get my head around working inside out and back to front!

  2. tialys says:

    Good Lord woman! You’re like a machine.

  3. you have golden hands !!!

  4. EllaDee says:

    Having a new handbag is always a fine thing. Being able to say of such a wonderful creation “I made it myself” is exceptional.

  5. dayphoto says:

    I’ve always wanted to make a purse! This one you made is really cute!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife@wordpress.com

    • katechiconi says:

      If you can sew at all, it’s really easy. Maybe not the lined, zippered pocket, but the rest of the bag. And you could always put in a simple patch pocket instead.

  6. Love those contrasting colours!

  7. Kirsten says:

    This is beautiful, you should be proud of it. I love the colours, especially the brighter print. And who cares if it wasn’t on the list, it has obviously made you happy and that it all that matters.

    • katechiconi says:

      I am quite proud of it, and I love the bright print – I bought it a few years ago and have never used it because it was so vivid. This is a perfect use for it, and best of all, I still have more!

  8. Sewing from the stash without a trip to the shop is very rewarding, isn’t it!

Leave a Reply

