A box of scraps

No, not a box full of scraps. I have more than enough of those…

This is a box made of scraps.

Screen shot 2014-06-03 at 12.56.05 PMScreen shot 2014-06-03 at 12.57.24 PMScreen shot 2014-06-03 at 12.56.31 PMThere’s a tutorial in the Free Patterns Archive of the Quilt Inspiration website for making small cyclindrical boxes, using scraps of fabric and batting, heavy interfacing, a zip and two old CDs, which I had been wanting to try for ages. I put all the relevant bits into one of my project shoe boxes, labelled it and put it on the shelf with all the others.

Yesterday I took it down. And this is the result. The only thing I had to buy was a zip the right length for a couple of dollars. You can make them small, like this one, or taller – or really tall, when they make a great gift box for a wine bottle or a fantastic water bottle carrier! You’re restricted to the diameter of the CD, of course, but it’s a handy size so that’s hardly a problem. The inside of the lid and base are padded with batting so you could stick pins or needles into them. You could add a pocket to the lid fabric before assembly, add trim, buttons, embroidery, a carrying handle, whatever takes  your fancy. You’ll find the tutorial here (sorry about the huge link, thank WordPress for not letting me insert it properly):

http://quiltinspiration.blogspot.com.au/2012/08/free-pattern-day-purses-handbags-and.html

That’s one of the project boxes cleared. I should really be grateful to Mrs R for making me pause in my normal headlong quilt-making rush – it’s giving me impetus to do these little projects. I might end up clearing a whole section of my To Do List!

Now, what shall I make next…?

23 thoughts on “A box of scraps

  1. I love it… although when I saw the first picture, I thought it was a cake (which probably says much more about me than about you!)

  2. Anlina says:

    Hee hee, I thought it was a cake! One track mind!

    • katechiconi says:

      You are not alone…. Perhaps I should start posting cakes in the hope that people will mistake them for boxes! Hope you’re well, good to hear from you again 🙂

      • Anlina says:

        Been a house of sickies with Brodie off school about a week, and now he has shared the love! On the improve now, too boring to be sick!

  3. itwasjudith says:

    thank you for sharing 🙂 the page has many interesting (free) pattern ideas!

    • katechiconi says:

      Isn’t it great! The whole pattern archive is brilliant. Not all the tutorials are very detailed, but some are very well explained and illustrated, and sometimes they’ll give you a link to a YouTube clip so you can see it actually being done.

  4. tialys says:

    What a good use for old or unwanted CDs – I certainly have some of the latter, bought when my taste in music had temporarily veered off the path.

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re pretty, and they come together fairly quickly, but there’s a bit of hand sewing to do. I’m thinking I might want to make one a little taller, and finish the edge around the hole in the centre of the CD on the top. You could zip a ball of yarn into it, feed the end through the hole and there you go, a ball the pets can’t get at, which won’t wind itself around the furniture.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks! It’s using scraps from one of my favourite Kaffe Fassett fabrics. No idea what I’m going to use it for just yet, but something will come to me.

  5. Kirsten says:

    What a great idea! Although I’m not sure mine would be as neat as yours.

  6. Now that is just adorable. I certainly have old CDs to use.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s quite easy to make, and I felt a quite disproportionate sense of achievement once it was done! Plus anything that uses up old CDs… I’m considering a series of hot drink coasters.

  7. We used to have heaps of dead CDs at work in my Melbourne job. We strung them up, shiny side out, as Christmas decorations. I wish I had a couple now so I could make one of these! Maybe I could just steal my husband’s Jethro Tull CDs …

Leave a Reply

