Amistad, Chapter 1

 

Amistad: fabrics and very sketchy sketch.

My conscience is clear, and so is my work table.

It must be time for Amistad!

For those of you who don’t know the story, I had a small stack of very pretty Moda Chez Moi Mimi co-ordinating fabrics in three colourways (pink/teal/green) which I bought at last year’s Brisbane Quilt Show. It sat in my cupboard waiting for me to get round to it. Then a friend gave me some more fabrics in the same range for my birthday. There was nearly enough for a quilt. Between us, it was decided that the quilt would be a joint effort, just as the fabric purchase had been. She’d buy a couple more in the third colourway (lilac), and contribute a 9-patch block or two. I’d do the rest. It would be called Amistad, or Friendship, because that’s what it celebrates.

I’ve pressed all the fabrics, and have sorted them into two piles: large and small scale prints. The large ones will be cut into 12.5″ squares to maximise the impact of the prints. The smaller ones will be cut into 4.5″ strips for piecing together  and making the 9-patch blocks. There’ll be 13 x big squares and 12 x 9-patch blocks in total, and the finished quilt will be 5 blocks across by 5 down, 60″ square. So long as my dear friend Mrs R comes through with her 9 patch contribution fairly soon, this quilt should go together really quickly. (No pressure, my lovely!)

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 12.40.38 PMThe fabric quantity is still looking a tiny bit skinny, so I’ve hauled two fabrics out of the stash which blend, even if they’re not from the same range. They could be used as fillers if necessary. If there are any nice scraps left, I shall make Mrs R something pretty with them, to remind her of the quilt. Son of Amistad, perhaps…? It’s not quite a bee, there are only two of us, but I think we should both end up with a souvenir of the enterprise.

I shall start cutting and sewing soon. Watch this space.

10 thoughts on “Amistad, Chapter 1

  1. Can’t wait to see how it comes together.

  2. tialys says:

    What a lovely idea. They look like my taste in quilting fabrics too. Another one to ‘roll off the presses’ very soon then! What about your dressmaking endeavours – will they be next?

    • katechiconi says:

      Dressmaking will come after Amistad. The list isn’t getting any shorter, and certain items on it seem to have the power to apply mental pressure for me to work on them! Amistad is nagging me, but I’m pretty sure dressmaking is next in line.

  3. Those fabrics are gorgeous. I can’t wait to see this one grow 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      This is one where I don’t want to cut the fabrics up too much, hence the large 12″ blocks. I’m going to try to let the hand quilting do all the fireworks, and keep the piecing very, very simple.

  4. I look forward to the end result !

  5. Kirsten says:

    The additional two fabrics are really pretty. They have a vintage vibe about them.

Leave a Reply

