Broken Bottles #13: Finished, finally

Screen shot 2014-05-30 at 4.31.33 PMIt’s done.  OK, I still have to sew on a label, but the quilt’s finished.

Screen shot 2014-05-30 at 4.32.32 PMThe quilting is just spacey enough that it’s still soft and drapes well. The broken glass starburst isn’t too overpowering on the front, and adds a bit of interest and texture on the back. I had just enough of everything, and a nice bit of the green shot backing cotton left to do something else with. There isn’t a single jelly roll strip left over, and the two spare blocks which I made into a heat pad are doing service on my desk as a pad under the camera.  I like a tidy result…. Oh, and it’s a Friday Finish!

Screen shot 2014-05-30 at 4.31.55 PMTime to go and defluff the sewing machine and put a new needle in. Amistad’s the next quilt in line, woo hoo!

27 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #13: Finished, finally

  1. tialys says:

    I cannot believe you have had the cheek to put ‘finally’ in your title! When I made a quilt for my eldest’s 18th birthday I had to wrap up the pieced top to give to her on the day, then ask for it back so I could complete it. What a bad mother.
    Your Sister- in- Law will be beside herself when she receives this – well done on another lovely quilt.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s just that I could have had it done days ago if I hadn’t had the garden project eating up 4 days in the middle. When I sat down at the sewing machine again, it felt as if I’d been away for weeks! And at least you completed Mlle Tialys’ quilt. I know plenty of people with dozens of UFOs in their cupboards… Happy it’s done, looking forward to the next one.

  2. It looks fabulous. Love the reverse – glad you decided to leave it plain, the starburst is so effective.

  3. sindhoooo says:

    That’s wonderful! I appreciate your patience to attain perfection! Great work!

    Regards,
    Sindhu
    Tantu
    The Arts & Me

  4. it is BEAUTIFUL !!!!

  5. wombatquilts says:

    Kate I love this pattern. It is so graphic and striking but not too complex. I have to make a quilt with this pattern….paper pieced of course!

    • katechiconi says:

      You just need a whole bunch of 2.5″ WOF strips. Almost nothing left over, unless you make a smaller quilt. Pair lights and darks, join two lots of pairs together, then cut squares and finally HSTs. You can paper piece it, but I think it would take longer than strip piecing…

  6. Jule says:

    Both sides are fantastic! Your sister-in-law will love it. 🙂

  7. anne54 says:

    It really seems like yesterday that you were telling us that you were beginning the quilt — and here it is in all its finished glory! Stunning.

    • katechiconi says:

      It looks more complicated than it actually was. One of the earlier posts about this quilt gives a link to a fool-proof tutorial for putting it together quickly and with minimal wastage. The trick to the apparent complexity is just to use loads of different colours, and mix darks and lights. But I’m pleased with the result, and am already thinking about making one for myself in different colours. Yet another one for the list….

      • anne54 says:

        Don’t you love how that list just gets longer. I guess that is what creativity is — putting ideas together to come up with something new!

  8. I love it and the quilting is inspired!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I must confess that I adore the back, but that has more to do with the beautiful green fabric, and less to do with my quilting. Anyway, now you can see what I’ve done with your tutorial! And I have another quilting friend in the US who’s fallen in love with it and is planning to make one – some time…

  9. Emmely says:

    It turned out great! I’m glad you stuck to your original quilting design, it really works.

  10. Kirsten says:

    That was quick! I hadn’t appreciated before that the shattered pattern was off center. It looks good – almost like rays of green sunshine from the back.

  11. Elizabeth says:

    Your Broken Glass quilt is beautiful! I love the colors! Searching for inspiration (still need motivation) to start a small piece for a new baby in the family. Starting small! Maybe it will be done for baby’s first birthday – haha!

    • katechiconi says:

      That one’s really quick and easy to do! Change the fabrics, scale it down and you’ll be done before you know it. The first blog in the Broken Bottles series gives a link to Avis’ really clear and simple tutorial. Give it a go.

Leave a Reply

