Broken Bottles #12: Quilted, quite


Screen shot 2014-05-29 at 6.49.13 PM Screen shot 2014-05-29 at 6.49.26 PM Screen shot 2014-05-29 at 6.49.37 PMIt’s done. The quilting is finished.

A little unpicking, a little re-sewing, but nothing too drastic. It’s finished, trimmed out, de-threaded, and the binding is made, ready to sew on tomorrow. By the end of the day, it should be done, labelled, finished. I must go and dig out a label transfer and a bit of white fabric…. Weather permitting, once it’s done I can hang it on the clothesline as usual to get a better photo. My hands are still a bit sore from all the heavy work of the past few days, but luckily sewing doesn’t seem to make it worse.

Screen shot 2014-05-29 at 6.50.00 PMAlso today, I treated myself to three new dressmaking patterns. Rather good value, actually, since they were half price, and three of the two were for multiple garments. So for $27 I have patterns for a tunic and medium pants, a wrap dress, a wrap top, wide leg pants, narrow leg pants, a coat, a jacket, a vest, and a simple dress / pinafore / jumper in two lengths.

First up will probably be the wrap dress, since I don’t have a really pretty dress to go out in, all my pretty outfits are separates. And for the dress, I’m going with a fabulous slinky matte jersey splashy print in teal and aqua on a white background which I have hoarded for a few years but never done anything with due to lack of overlocker. It’s loud, but this IS the tropics, after all… And then I shall make something from my cream and chocolate floral silhouette print, and then, and then….

Screen shot 2014-05-29 at 6.50.24 PMScreen shot 2014-05-29 at 6.50.35 PMIt’s good to be back at the sewing machine. The baby vegies are fine on their own, I have projects lined up, and time to play.

11 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #12: Quilted, quite

  1. tialys says:

    Oh, oh! I see a new addiction coming on.
    Good idea with the wrap dress for your jersey – which is lovely by the way – I’m looking forward to seeing what you and your overlocker come up with. Knowing you, it will probably be ready later today!

    • katechiconi says:

      Probably not tonight, or even by the end of the week; I have to bind the quilt first. It’s a conscience thing…. But I am looking forward to having a go!

  2. Kirsten says:

    Those patterns look lovely – and what a bargain. I’m looking forward to seeing the wrap dress, the jersey is so summery.

  3. I really love that green binding. My friend Sarah introduced me to printed bias binding a few weeks ago – she’s using it to edge dishcloths – and now I want some myself!!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s not hard to make bias binding with a little metal thingy and an iron. Any medium weight cotton will do, and you can make it as jazzy as you like! I don’t use bias binding for binding a quilt; straight grain is more sturdy for a quilt edge, but I do love a nice bias bound armhole.

  4. You don’t have a party dress? It is time to treat yourself to one!
    (Please don’t tell my husband. Over the years I have led him to believe that a closet full of party dresses is normal. Shhh.)

    • katechiconi says:

      I absolutely HATE trying things on. I can stick a glitzy top with a pair of white cropped pants and my Queensland Woman party outfit is complete. But my figure isn’t very good and I find clothes shopping deeply depressing. I thought if I made something myself I might not hate it…. And if I do, well, I haven’t spent loads on something that’s never worn.

      • The glitzy top works well here too. I’ve stopped making myself clothes as I can only try them on when it is too late. (How did I not know this beautiful fabric would make me look like a ghost when I bought it!? Etc.) I have a weakness for recycling boutiques.

      • katechiconi says:

        I probably would too if we had any here! But at least I can be pretty sure the lovely jersey print will suit me, since I already own loads of things in those colours. But first, on with the next quilt!

Leave a Reply

