It’s not my birthday, so….

Screen shot 2014-05-28 at 5.03.20 PM…How did I end up scoring an overlocker?

My lovely sister-in-law had the Janome overlocker her grandmother used. It’s not, as you might think from that statement, an antique, but a perfectly good Janome differential feed 4 thread overlocker. The darling sister-in-law in question has handed it on to live with me and get some use, with the proviso that I help out with the odd seam here and there. Noooooo problemo!

And this unexpected manna from heaven has coincided with an email from my LQS, telling me there’s a half price sale on all Simplicity patterns. I feel a spot of dressmaking coming on. Now I can go mad with knit fabrics! Now my seam edges will be pristine! Now my hems will be less bulky! Can you tell I’m a bit excited?

Husband slumps out of room, shaking head despondently… He knows it means I’ll be disappearing into my sewing room with even greater frequency. I’d feel sorry for him if I wasn’t already feeling so gleeful!

9 thoughts on “It’s not my birthday, so….

  1. When I used to sew a lot an overlocker was my dream machine… not so much now, but I know you will get so much use out of it – have fun!

  2. alisonsye says:

    I’m excited too. Have fun 🙂

  3. They are a handy thing to have. Enjoy!

  4. tialys says:

    Woohoo! You can join me now in my knits fest. I’ve just made a Coco colour block dress in about 2 minutes flat (slight exaggeration but you get my drift). You will now be googling decent knit fabrics that don’t have bunny rabbits or robots on – unless that is your thing!
    Just don’t let the thing get unthreaded. I don’t know what it is but, each time I change the threads to a different colour, even though I knot each one on to the existing threads individually and feed it through, something goes on inside and I end up having to re-thread anyway. Immediate add-on of about 20 minutes to a project. The results are worth it though

    • katechiconi says:

      I have some gorgeous mid-weight jersey in white with a splashy teal/aqua print on it which has been sitting in my dress fabrics box forever. I have probably 3m of it, and no project in mind. My difficulty is that I’m not a shape any longer that is flattered by jersey (in my opinion), so I shall have to shop carefully for the pattern. I have some experience with overlocker threading; I did a fashion and textiles module as part of my design degree at college, and I was the go-to person when the industrial machines went wrong, got jammed or came unthreaded. But that was many years ago…

      • tialys says:

        Have you considered the Coco dress? I keep making it in its various incarnations. It’s an A-line shape and as long as you lengthen it (as I forgot to do with the last one I made so I’ll probably have to give it to one of my daughters) and make it in a decent weight jersey, it is quite flattering. .http://www.tillyandthebuttons.com/p/coco.html

      • katechiconi says:

        It’s very pretty, but I’m shaped rather like a brick, wide shoulders, big waist and flat bottom. And built on generous lines too. I can’t help feeling that a dress that looks wonderful on a slender person would end up looking as if I’d squeezed myself into something meant for a woman half my age… However, I’ve bookmarked the page, so I’ll go back and see what else she may have. Meanwhile, there’s a fairly flattering Simplicity pattern I’m going to have a go at.

  5. Emmely says:

    Congratulations, enjoy experimenting with it!

  6. Kirsten says:

    Oooh, lucky you! I’m sure it will get lots of use.

Leave a Reply

