Broken Bottles #11: Breaking glass

I’ve started quilting. And it did not begin well…

Screen shot 2014-05-23 at 6.00.29 PM

I know I like big stitch quilting, but this is ridiculous

I foolishly thought I’d mark the straight lines with masking tape. That would have been OK if the lines didn’t intersect. For anyone out there thinking of marking with masking tape: Do it only where lines do not cross or intersect. If you build up the layers of tape and stitch through them, you will spend many painful, pointless and frustrating hours snipping and picking with tweezers, pulling out stitching and having to redo it. On the other hand, if the lines don’t intersect, it’s a very good way of stitching along a straight line. I thought that masking tape would pull out of stitching like in paper piecing. Not. Not even close. A valuable lesson learned: Do not layer the masking tape.

Screen shot 2014-05-23 at 5.59.33 PM

You can see the starburst /shatter beginning to appear

Next bit of fun. My trusty and recently-serviced Janome had a large hissy fit. I have unpicked metres of dodgy stitching. My patience has been sorely tried. But after much bad language and rethreading the machine and reseating the bobbin three times, it finally decided to stitch properly.

Now we’re getting somewhere. I have all the main radiating lines done and the quilt is stabilised. I’ve started the cross lines and the additional radiating lines. I’m happy with how it looks. There’s a fair bit still to do: I have about a third of it done, and may well add more lines here and there if I feel there are saggy areas that need more quilting. The back looks particularly nice; the quilting really brings out the sheen of the shot cotton.

Screen shot 2014-05-23 at 5.59.45 PM

Still fabulous, and now more interesting because of the texture

Tomorrow I have to go and move more stones in the morning. But if I don’t completely ruin my back, I’ll get back onto the quilting in the afternoon. I think I may get it finished by the end of the weekend.

But now, it’s time for a cup of tea and a home made peanut butter and choc chip cookie.

13 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #11: Breaking glass

  1. Ooh, I do so hate unpicking! Actually, I’m beginning to realise that I’m not keen on (machine) sewing in the first place… I have big pile of it glaring at me from the table in my room and it just doesn’t seem to be getting done… even though I do want the finished objects. I think it’s because it ties me to the sewing machine, unlike crochet or knitting which I can do anywhere and I can’t listen to a talking book whilst I’m doing it. Just makes me all the more impressed by your creations!

    • katechiconi says:

      I can do a lot of other things while I sew. Talk to the Husband, think about the garden, talk on the phone (earbud headset), draft a blog, think about what’s for dinner. Like knitting for you, sewing just comes out of the end of my fingers without needing a lot of concentration. My hands and feet know what to do! Perhaps you should ship your sewing over to me, and I’ll get you to finish Woolly Thing for me!

  2. tialys says:

    You are a fast mover!
    Much as I love the look of the quilt I must just say that peanut butter and chocolate chips cookies sound like the best thing ever. Have you got a recipe?

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes indeed, the simplest in the world. 1/2 cup = 125ml.
      1/2 cup each of crunchy peanut butter, soft dark brown sugar and dark chocolate chips, 1 egg, 1 level tsp cinnamon. Mix all together very well. Dollop teaspoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with baking paper. Bake in the oven at 180C for 15-20 minutes. Slide baking paper off the cookie sheet and onto a wire rack. Let the cookies cool completely before you peel them off the paper. They are chewy rather than crisp. If you want crisper, reduce the heat and increase the cooking time a bit. Let me know how you like them! I also love them with sultanas instead of choc chips. Same quantity.

  3. tialys says:

    I have all those ingredients and I’ll let you know how they go down. Quite quickly I would imagine!

  4. wombatquilts says:

    Oh please send cookies. You know the address!

  5. alisonsye says:

    Yes, I tried that masking tape thing – ONCE!

  6. I love the continued theme in your quilting detail. I hope the tea and cookies worked magic and you enjoy the rest of the quilting process on this beautiful quilt!

    • katechiconi says:

      It did the trick. I got another hour of work in before the light got too bad – I can’t see the marking pencil well enough under artificial light. After that I stopped, made another chicken egg cosy and a pot holder from the two spare Broken Bottles blocks! The magical restorative powers of cookies….

  7. Kirsten says:

    I have had a similar issue with double sided tape. I can’t remember now why I was using it – probably to avoid having to pin something, or I could have been stitching through paper – either way, it was a bad idea. I ended up with a sticky needle that wouldn’t go through anything!

Leave a Reply

