Broken Bottles #9: Green, and gorgeous

Screen shot 2014-05-15 at 1.39.21 PMI have found the most beautiful shot cotton for the backing.

It’s in a colour called ‘green tea’, and it’s a lime weft thread on a dark olive warp. Truly beautiful. I have bought just a tiny bit more than I need for the backing, because I want some good scraps of it. But only a tiny bit… I may have to go back. It’s brighter than most of the other greens, but it sort of lights up the quilt. I have just enough dark green leafy print to do the binding with about 16″ left over. Close, but not too scary.

Screen shot 2014-05-15 at 1.40.32 PMI’m going to piece the back. The seams will be horizontal, the full WOF across the bottom, then a seam and inset squares, one of them straight strips, and two diagonals, offset and surrounded by plain green, then another seam and the top half also green. That way, I use up the three squares I have left over, give the back a bit of fun, and give myself a few more bits of scrap. Cunning plan, eh? On the other hand, if I use one of the squares for the front of a sofa cushion with a border around it, backed with the shot cotton, that would also be fabulous. No, I don’t think I can be that noble. The scraps are mine!

8 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #9: Green, and gorgeous

  1. tialys says:

    I love the colour of that shot cotton – it will look gorgeous with the other greens.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s the colour of fresh grass, and the light catches it so beautifully. I’m going to be really stingy in how I use it for the back; there wasn’t much left on the bolt in the shop…

  2. That fabric is really beautiful…

  3. Oooh! That does look nice. Don’t tell me you found that in Spotlight!

  4. wombatquilts says:

    Oh that shot cotton is beyond fabulous. Subtly bright and perfect.

Leave a Reply

