Broken Bottles #8: It’s time for grovelling once more…

Screen shot 2014-05-14 at 5.24.07 PM

Look at that, no dodgy points showing. And I didn’t even plan it that way…

The top is complete. The white border is in place. 

Now, of course, I have to go and buy backing (tremble, Husband, I’m going to Spotlight!). And then it’s time for the bit where I make excuses not to clear away furniture, vacuum the floor, press the quilt top, piece (if necessary) and press the backing, put the batting in the tumble drier for 5 minutes to make the creases drop out, and then get down on the floor and grovel. It’s hard on the back, hard on the knees, hard on the fingers and hard on the patience. I’m going to pin it fairly closely this time, as I want to make sure that all those nice pointy points stay put, that the backing doesn’t pucker or bubble and that no matter what quilting design I ultimately go for, everything stays flat, flat, flat.

Now, I’ve got a few things on in the next week or so, so once I’ve scored the backing and that’s good to go, I’m going to have to put Broken Bottles aside for a little while. It’s not even an excuse, it’s just life getting in the way of quilting, shock, horror. So there’s going to be a bit of a quilty hiatus in the immediate future. I’m hoping, though, that the vegie garden will get a look-in, because some of the other things I have to do relate to that. That, and a visit from my sister and her husband, on their way north. They’re making a long, leisurely trip of it, so we’ll have the pleasure of their company for a few days. I will therefore be on extended kitchen and chauffeur duties, since the Husband will be at work.

The lovely Mrs R down in Dorrigo is about to start the 9-patch squares she’s making for me to go into Amistad, our friendship quilt. She’s hoping to get them to me in a week or so, and after that, the heat is on. Amistad beckons, and I’m not in the least reluctant to start! But I will finish Broken Bottles first…

Next stop, the fabric shop. Hurray!

6 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #8: It’s time for grovelling once more…

  1. Ah, so even though you were righteous and have been working on Broken Bottles, you also get to indulge at Spotlight: win-win!

  2. Tracey R says:

    No pressure!!! Sorry went out for dinner next door so will have to start another day and post them. x x x

    • katechiconi says:

      No pressure! I still have quite a bit to do on BB, a load of stuff to do in the garden, a crochet project, a knitting project, etc, etc. Don’t sweat it.

  3. Whoo whoo, next stop, fabric shop!
    LOL!!!
    You go girl!
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      I know, and I have the perfect excuse to go! I will try to be good and not buy anything other than what I need for this quilt, but it’s soooooooo hard. Still, I have to try. I have enough fabric to make quilts for the next 10 years, I think…

Leave a Reply

