Broken Bottles #5: Pieced, partly

Screen shot 2014-05-11 at 5.25.17 PM
There was no way this quilt was going to match up without pins
.

Screen shot 2014-05-11 at 5.24.11 PMScreen shot 2014-05-11 at 5.24.33 PMScreen shot 2014-05-11 at 5.25.02 PMToo many points, bias edges, intersecting seams and, frankly, uneven strips. For which I do not take responsibility; this was a commercial jelly roll and aren’t I allowed to assume the widths would be standard? Not. Hence pins. Lots of pinning. Lots of trimming. Lots of easing. But it could have been so much worse. My patience is intact and my fingers are so far unbloodied.

As you can see, it’s looking fairly respectable. The thing is coming together quite well despite my complaining! If it were for me, I’d be a lot slacker about points and matching seams, but it’s for the lovely and inhumanly patient Yvonne, who is a person of great taste, warmth and style, and for whom I couldn’t possibly make a dodgy quilt!

Screen shot 2014-05-10 at 4.31.02 PMThe quilting pattern has come clear in my mind, though. I was thinking about a design that would communicate broken glass. Random triangular shapes were, well, too random. And then the brainwave struck. And here’s what I think it’s going to be based on. Radically simplified, of course, but it’s essentially straight lines radiating out with the occasional cross line. It wouldn’t stand out as much as this, since I’d quilt in green on green, rather than white on dark blue.

There’s just a tiny shadow of doubt in my mind about it. Is it just me, or does this look like a broken windscreen after something has impacted it…?  Do say if you think it’s a bit macabre; I’m just in love with the visual effect but I’m open to your ideas. If the general response is no, I’ll find another glass image to inspire me!

22 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #5: Pieced, partly

  1. Your quilt is gorgeous. I made this one a while ago and loved it so much that I wrote a tutorial on my blog. I’ll definitely make it again sometime. I love your chosen colour scheme 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      My sister-in-law chose the colours for the most part, and I’ve made one or two substitutions where the hue was too intense. It isn’t a colour I’d normally use – my school uniform was bottle green and that scarred me for life – but I do agree it’s working well!

  2. Ha-ha! I’ve just spotted from your previous post that you used my tutorial. Thank you so much for the link 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Credit where it’s due! Mine’s a bit bigger as I’m using more strips, and doesn’t have the clarity and crispness of yours due to the extra colours, but the tutorial helped a lot to speed up the process. It’s a bugger pressing all those long strips, isn’t it?

  3. mlwilkie says:

    You could also try a little glue instead of pins. A friend does this and it works wonders.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a well known fact that I’m desperately clumsy, and I’ve always avoided glue for that reason. Pins I can deal with (at the cost of some blood, admittedly), but knowing my luck there’d be glue everywhere if I tried it!

  4. I am glad it is not just me who finds those uneven jelly rolls annoying.
    The colours do look like antique green and brown bottles.

    • katechiconi says:

      One of the strips was nearly a quarter of an inch out! And quite a few of them weren’t on the straight grain, with the consequence that they frayed like the blazes. I thought immediately of glass when I saw all the strips in a heap, rather than in a tidy roll.

  5. Emmely says:

    You are really inspiring me to finally continue with the quilt that has been stationary on my design wall since January…. I need to unpick some rows because I realised after starting the piecing process that I could really improve the layout if I changed some things around…. Serves me for rushing straight in instead of thinking things through first…

    • katechiconi says:

      My way of avoiding that is to lay out the entire quilt on my design wall before I sew anything at all. I rarely make things block by block, and having all the pieces loose lets me make changes as I go along if necessary. It’s slower at the start, but means you don’t need to do a lot of unpicking along the way!

      • Emmely says:

        Well, the thing is, I did put the whole thing on the design wall. Looked at it for a bit, changed some things and started sewing because I wanted to finish it before a certain date (that passed a long time ago by now). Then I suddenly realised that if I changed a certain pattern in the layout it would really look loads better. Teaching me that my usual non hurried approach where I look at the design wall for at least 2 weeks or so really is the way to go… Now I need to unpick because I know I’ll never be happy about this quilt if I don’t and I really dislike unpicking. I’ll make a start today though. I really should finish this quilt because it was meant as a birthday gift for one of my sisters.

      • katechiconi says:

        Well, it sounds as if it’s going to be worth finishing, and your sister will be surprised and delighted! Don’t forget to post before and after photos, and let us see how it’s getting on.

      • Emmely says:

        My sister reads my blog so I can’t really show any in progress pictures but I am constantly taking pictures so I now how to put the pieced rows back up again.

      • Emmely says:

        I’ve started unpicking and am probably 1/3 through (that didn’t even take that long right?). Now onto the crazy part. This quilt has been on my wall since January. Occassionally one of the triangles fell off and had to be put back. This morning, after I had decided to finally continue with this project, I come upstairs, look at my wall and HALF the top has come down! Ridiculous right? I’d better continue, I’m itching to start piecing again and can’t really until I’ve finished unpicking or risk having to unpick even more…

      • katechiconi says:

        Sounds like you’re committed! Go to it; once you’re in the groove, things go so much faster. The problem is always to get yourself started.

  6. Emmely says:

    Oh, and I do think the quilting could turn out stunning. It does look a bit like a broken windscreen but regular windows can also look like this when something has hit it. It does stay in theme.

  7. tialys says:

    And there was me blaming myself for dodgy piecing when using jelly rolls – thanks for giving me a good excuse 🙂 I can’t wait to see how you convey the broken glass image – actually, I thought it was a spider’s web at first.

    • katechiconi says:

      My plan is that it should only be visible when you see it side on, rather than have it stand out too much. Catching light and shade will be much more interesting, I think, and will work with the broken glass theme.

  8. Kirsten says:

    If that’s the picture that inspires you the most, then stick with it. If there is any doubt at all, keep looking.

    (I have to be honest and say that at first I thought it was a spider’s web.)

    • katechiconi says:

      Perhaps it’s only me that has trouble with the image. Everyone else seems to think it’s OK. Spider’s web is good too. I think I will keep looking, though, until I reach the point of being ready to start quilting, in case there’s something better. Perhaps I can leave the glass imagery to the colours and do something completely different…

Leave a Reply

