Broken Bottles #4: Chaos, ordered

It’s a sad situation, but I just can’t get far enough away from my design wall to take a photo of the whole thing.

Screen shot 2014-05-10 at 1.03.51 PMScreen shot 2014-05-10 at 1.03.41 PMScreen shot 2014-05-10 at 1.03.25 PM

My sewing room is 3 paces across. I need to get 5 paces away to be able to take the entire design wall in. So I’ve had to slice it in three. Since these photos, I’ve moved exactly 3 squares, and that is going to be IT. The quilt has effectively designed itself. All I did was choose the light and dark strips that went together, and the rest has been utterly random (apart from the aforementioned 3 squares). It is becoming an exercise in relinquishing control, going with the flow and letting things sit next to each other that I would normally engineer to be apart in the initial layout. The quilt refuses to allow this sort of activity, and I’m going to let it take charge and just sew the seams.  I’ll probably sneak in some ideas of my own when I do the borders and binding!

Chaos is probably too strong a word, because there is a pattern and a flow. Order is also too strong, because it’s so spontaneous. It has moved away from the clarity and discipline of Avis’ original design because I’m using a much larger palette of colour, and there’s surface pattern in there too. I probably won’t do a quilt like this again, but I’m enjoying the process – and the speed at which it’s coming together!

Tomorrow, I’ll probably have this section mostly sewn together. Must go and ferret in the Cupboard of All Colours to see what I can find for the borders…

13 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #4: Chaos, ordered

  1. tialys says:

    This is looking gorgeous. Sometimes random is good.

    • katechiconi says:

      Before this, I would have said controlled was better, but I’m enjoying how this looks. I’m very glad I’m working on this one now, it’s coming together very well and I’ll soon have finished the piecing, probably in the next day or so. And then, it’s Amistad!

  2. It certainly doesn’t look like chaos! I am becoming quite interested in randomness. The masterpiece has, for example, grown as I received squares, so pre-planning was impossible, but almost everyone who sees it assumed that there is an underlying design!

    • katechiconi says:

      I love it when beauty just happens: Synchronicity and serendipity, and other fun words beginning with ‘S’. After all, it’s a process Nature carries out without any template or master plan, and look how gorgeous the results are!

  3. alisonsye says:

    It’s great to ferret!
    Love the piece – wonderful 🙂

  4. Emmely says:

    You are sure working fast!

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s the advantage of a random pattern; you don’t need to spend much time on the layout. And string piecing the HSTs made it much faster too. I’d still be making the small square blocks if I’d done it the traditional way.

  5. I am really enjoying this process! I should do a chaos-order quilt too one of these days!!!
    Great work, and super fast too!
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s crazy, but even with all the wobbly bias edges, this quilt is just flying together. It’s like someone else is doing the driving! I enjoy talking about the process of quilting, not just showing finished results. What gave me the idea, debating how to achieve certain effects, etc.

  6. Kirsten says:

    Why won’t you do a quilt like this again? Especially if it is relatively quick and easy . . .

Leave a Reply

