Broken Bottles #2: The pairs

Lots of straight lines later…

Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 7.49.08 AM

This is a bit dark, but you get the idea


I have 18 pairs of dark and light greens. They vary between very dark with medium light and medium dark with very light so I get a good range, rather than the geometric effect looking stripey. I’ve done stripey. It was fine, but I want something different. It’s not going to be as truly random as shards of broken glass, because there’s a strong repeat in the blocks, but it will, I hope, look like light catching on fractured glass surfaces, with brights and darks, vivid and dull. Or perhaps even that’s too ambitious. A pleasant green and white quilt will do nicely; I don’t want to force it, but with luck the range of colours will do the trick.

Screen shot 2014-05-09 at 1.07.27 PM

The strip sets, dark and light

Every time I do a quilt that needs long strips joined edge to edge, I forget how much patience you need to make sure you don’t stretch the edges, and with what a light hand you need to handle the strips. I have managed to avoid stretching and distorting so far, but now I need to start joining pairs to other pairs to make quad strips, running dark – medium dark – medium light – light.

Once they’re joined, it’ll be time to cut them into 8.5″ squares, and we’re on for the next phase, which is sewing twin diagonal lines across pairs of squares and cutting them in half – ack, it’ll be easier to explain in pictures once I’ve done it.

Better go and fire up the steam iron again, there are still quite a few seams to be sewn and pressed before I’m ready to start cutting.

 

4 thoughts on “Broken Bottles #2: The pairs

  1. tialys says:

    This stage is my most favourite (yes! ‘favourite’ with a ‘u’ spellchecker – I am English!) part of making a quilt. The planning and cutting and joining – after that I go off the boil a bit. I seriously considered sending my last quilt top off to be quilted on a longarm machine but, apart from the fact it was hideously expensive, no matter how well it was done it wouldn’t be ‘mine’ with all its little imperfections.

    • katechiconi says:

      I agree, the quilt top is what it’s all about for me, and I don’t go in for complicated stuff. To be honest, my favourite (with a U) form of quilting for a quilt is the old fashioned diamond cross hatching, which is incidentally really, really easy. It works really well on any quilt which is based on a square or rectangular grid. One of these days I’ll get back to FMQ…. maybe.

Leave a Reply

