Happiness is….a finished quilt!



Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 4.31.11 PMIt’s done, too late for a Friday Finish, but I’m glad I held it up, because now it’s right. You can see I finished in the late afternoon, with the westerly sun making an interesting fence shadow on the bottom half. I could have waited some more and photographed it tomorrow, but I didn’t want to!

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 4.33.10 PMScreen shot 2014-05-04 at 4.33.55 PMThe hearts are great, but the linear hand quilting just wasn’t working for me at all. And I’m loving the buttons! The lack of quilting is making it softer and puffier than it would be if I’d done some form of all over design, such as my usual fallback, diagonal cross hatching. But since this is a sofa snuggler rather than a bed quilt, that suits me fine.

And now I’m free to pick up other projects. What is lying uneasy on my conscience is Broken Bottles for my sister-in-law. I promised it to her over 2 years ago. I’ve had the fabric all that time. Now I have to do something about it, especially as my brother now has his. Since it’s made from jelly roll strips, cutting it shouldn’t take long, so perhaps I’ll start that.

Time to clear my table, change the needle and de-fluff the sewing machine. Oh, and empty the bin!

28 thoughts on “Happiness is….a finished quilt!

  1. NikkiM says:

    We’ll done! Looking good! Good feeling when a quilt is done!
    Love
    Nikki

  2. Hip hip hooray for cheery buttons!!! I love the quilt!
    Esther

  3. anne54 says:

    Those buttons just make the whole thing! Clever you for knowing that it was exactly the right thing in the right place.

  4. It looks better than wonderful!

  5. Emmely says:

    The buttons add an additional layer of happiness, good choice!

  6. mlwilkie says:

    A fantastic finish. It is so good when you finish a project, so totally understand the happiness. Well deserved.

  7. Congratulations! I love the extra pop of color and interest the buttons give the quilt.

  8. wombatquilts says:

    Love those buttons. Great job, as always Kate.

  9. dayphoto says:

    A wonderful guilt and an outstanding job!

    ✿♥ღLinda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  10. Jule says:

    A great finish! Love the buttons. 🙂

  11. Very colorful and cheerful. I love this quilt 🙂

  12. Great call on the buttons.

  13. tialys says:

    It looks amazing! Did you have all those buttons in your stash or did you have to buy some?

    • katechiconi says:

      A bit of both. I didn’t have particular colours and had to buy them: lime green, hot pink, etc… I think the variety of colours, sizes and shapes help to make it more fun.

  14. Kirsten says:

    I love the buttons too!

Leave a Reply

