Fluffy Thing, here I come…

Screen shot 2014-05-01 at 6.43.01 PMYes, yes, I know I said I was going to finish Happiness before I looked at any knitting. So sue me.

I have found myself unable to resist the fluffy goodness that is my mohair mix yarn. I have found a pattern even an abject beginner such as myself can follow. I even had needles the right size without having to pay a dangerous visit to Spotlight. At the back of my mind is The List. Woolly Thing looks reproachfully at me every time I sit down with hand quilting. I need to get outside and refinish my 3 metre dining table and varnish it. But no, Fluffy Thing is calling…

So, on 6mm needles, I’m going to cast on anywhere between 26 and 36 stitches; I don’t know how wide that’ll turn out till I’ve done it. I definitely want wide, not skinny. Then I’m going to start. Row 1: sl1, k1, yok2tog, yok2tog, yok2tog and so on till the end. Repeat indefinitely, till I think it looks big enough. I have three balls of this yarn, and I’m probably going to keep going till I’ve used it up.

If I was clever, I’d go out and buy circular needles and make a nice triangular shawl, but I’m still at knitting baby steps. Let’s wait and see; I may hate knitting by the time I’ve finished Fluffy Thing. If I don’t hate it, I probably WILL go and buy those circular needles and use my other yarn for the shawl. Of course, I’m going to end up very fluffy myself, but fortunately I don’t live in London or Melbourne any more, and am no longer obliged to wear black on every conceivable occasion. The fluff will blend in nicely with most of my tropical wardrobe!

Back to hand quilting. 72 hearts done, 28 to go. Then it’s the straight stuff, which I will steam through because I don’t have to turn the quilt all the time. Don’t think I’m good for a Friday Finish, but should be good for next week!

18 thoughts on “Fluffy Thing, here I come…

  1. Kirsten says:

    Looking forward to seeing Fluffy Thing progress. Remember that your knitting will grow in width a little after you have completed your first row of knitting. What I am trying to say is that the width of your cast on row will not necessarily be the width after you have done a row or two. It will depend on your tension. Does that make sense? Should I shut up?

    • katechiconi says:

      Makes perfect sense. Do not under any circumstances shut up, I need all the advice I can get! The needles are pretty large, the yarn is quite fine. I’m looking for light and airy rather than neat, firm stitches. I’m not sure I have much control over tension at this early stage. Roughly how much will it grow? Or is that another piece of string question…?

  2. I think you will be a delightful fluffy thing… and the knitting should be lovely too!

    • katechiconi says:

      Awww! My problem is that I have to bypass the usual knitting projects that people start with, because there’s no way I can wear something thick and cosy and knitted with chunky yarn. In an ideal world, I’d be starting straight into lace knitting!

  3. tialys says:

    I wouldn’t have recommended mohair as your first knitting project as it can be a bit ‘irritating’ to work with but you love it, you’re using big needles and it’s a new month so why not?

  4. I agree. Start with what you love, no matter how challenging. You will finish it if you are excited about being able to wear or use it.
    When you later decide to buy circular needles, get the best you can. The cheap ones kink horribly.
    I often find my local op shop is a great source of cheap regular knitting needles. I think I now have just about every size.
    Great tropical colours!

    • katechiconi says:

      I have to tell you, it was your knitted lace scarf that lit the fire under my new found urge to knit. It’s so gorgeous, and so everything all my previous knitting experiences were not, that I felt I had to give the twin needles another chance! Watch this space. One day I too will be bragging about one of those beauties!

    • Linne says:

      I often use cheap ones; I solve the kinking problem by soaking the middle part in very hot water for a bit; that unkinks it beautifully. On some of my larger projects I have four or more sets of circulars going at once (for straight knitting, not knitting in the round, although that would work there, too.) ~ Linne

  5. Jule says:

    Great pattern, never tried lace knitting before but I could not resist and just made a little sample swatch. 🙂 Fluffy thing will be lovely.

  6. Linne says:

    I love this pattern too! If you have bits of yarn left over, you might want to try the crocheted brooch I just saw on the Gentle Stitches blog. It’s her Mother’s Day project. ~ Linne

  7. Linne says:

    Correction! Sorry, the brooch is not on Gentle Stitches’ blog; it’s on the Squirrel Picnic blog. Guess I’m reading too quickly today . . . ~ Linne

Leave a Reply

