Triple, but no trouble!

They’re here!

Meet Julie Barbara, Guusje Margriet and Isabel Jannemijn, between 5 and 6 pounds each. The triplets were born on 26 April, at full term and without problems. So far, they seem to be spending lots of time asleep. It can’t possibly last – soon there will be loud demands for food, cuddles and nappy changes, followed a few years later by loud demands for the latest toy, chocolate and McDonalds, and then finally, expensive electronic items, unsuitable clothing and permission to go to loud music festivals/South America/Australia (well, I can hope, can’t I?).

Screen shot 2014-04-28 at 7.34.08 AM

 

Screen shot 2014-04-28 at 7.34.26 AM

I’m looking forward to seeing which quilt their parents think goes with which baby – and whether I can tell them apart. It’s too early even to tell how much they look like each other; at present they just have the normal newborn baby face and it will take time for their faces to smooth out and the features to assert themselves.

That makes 16 nieces and nephews and 8 great nieces and nephews…. and I’m pretty sure it’s not going to stop there! More baby quilts in my future, I think.

 

 
26 thoughts on “Triple, but no trouble!

  1. anne54 says:

    Awwww, how delightful! They look perfect, and I wish them a long and happy life.

  2. Full-term triplets without problems?! Brilliant.

    • katechiconi says:

      I know, and they were each nearly full weight for a single baby. Poor Suzanne was huge, but she’s a clever girl to have hung onto them for so long. Everyone assumes they’re assisted-fertility babies, but no, they managed this one all by themselves.

  3. tialys says:

    Three at once, phew! Have you already made these babies their quilts?

  4. Congratulations on these three gorgeous babies! They are so big! Amazing!!!
    Are they near me? I might be teaching them then in about 12 years, ha ha! I will look out for them! 🙂
    Esther

  5. Emmely says:

    Triplets, wow! Doesn’t happen very often that they reach full term but it will probably give them a much easier start in life. I don’t envy their mom though, she must have been huge by the end!

  6. Oh squeeeee!!! they are so sweet and their parents and Aunt and Uncle are clever indeed. What a lovely family. Blessings to y ;-)ou all!

  7. Kirsten says:

    Adorable! Good size for triplets too.

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! She’s a clever girl to have hung onto them for so long; she must have been barely able to waddle by the end.

      • Kirsten says:

        I bet she couldn’t wait for them to come out – 18 lbs of babies and all the associated water! I’d say she deserves a rest, but with three babies . . .

      • katechiconi says:

        Oh, and let’s not forget her 3 year old daughter, who’s maybe viewing the new arrivals as a mixed blessing… However, her husband is taking three months off to see her through the feeds, broken nights and dear knows how many nappy changes.

      • Kirsten says:

        They are going to need a rota.

  8. dayphoto says:

    Oh! How darling!!! Just the perfect way to start my day!

    ✿♥ღLinda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  9. How cute ! I wish them lots of luck in life !

  10. Linne says:

    Gorgeous babies! I’ll be showing their pictures to my Mum; we both have a soft spot for twins, triplets, etc. I’m glad things went well. ~ Linne

  11. Jen Gardener says:

    Oh my goodness! How precious!

  12. Nanette says:

    Ah, little sweeties….it’s always mind-boggling to think they all folded up nicely and fitted inside. Yes, do keep continue with progress pics and cute stories… who doesn’t love a baby. Oh, and if I get all sentimental and weepy I can wipe my eyes and tears on…ta da! my new, beautifully hemmed, fine as fine can be lawn hankie 🙂 Thankyou Kate, it arrived Thursday but I forgot to check the mail, so it came into my hands yesterday….lovely work, and the fabric is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

