Sunday Stash

I don’t do these very often, since I try not to buy stash items every week.

Mostly I succeed. But there was a sale on at Spotlight yesterday, with 40% off all yarn and lots off a wide variety of fabrics.  So, yes, I succumbed. Not a huge surprise.

Screen shot 2014-04-26 at 5.40.04 PMThis is my yarn haul. Since I have no idea what I want to make, just that I liked the feel and the colour, I didn’t buy much. The big balls are 100% pure wool 8 ply, 100g each. The bluey/greeny/purply ones are a colour called Ocean, and the brown/purple/ orange/charcoal ones are Volcano. I’m interest to see what happens when they meet in one place!

Screen shot 2014-04-26 at 5.40.21 PMThe small balls are an acrylic/mohair/wool mix, in 50g balls. No colour name, just a number. But I couldn’t resist the sweet spring colours. You’d think the climate here would put me off yarn. Nope…

Screen shot 2014-04-26 at 5.40.41 PMThis is 90cm of pink and white patterned lawn, reduced from $15 a metre down to $4.50 a metre.  I could not resist. I’m thinking more hankies. There was a gorgeous black and white print, but still at the full price of $18 a metre. I didn’t buy any, but now I’m hankering for it.  It was a mid size print of ginkgo leaves in black and grey on a white background. Lovely!

Screen shot 2014-04-26 at 5.40.56 PMThese are fat quarters for an as-yet undecided project. You could get 5 FQs for $10, another bargain. I love these colours together; I think it’s going to be a couple of cushion covers or a table cloth. It’s not enough to make anything larger unless I start adding different colours which I don’t really want to do. That acid green is just brilliant – I can almost taste lemon drops!

Screen shot 2014-04-26 at 5.41.24 PMAnd finally, the white cambric broderie anglaise trim I’ll be using for my posh white nightie. I looked at lace and didn’t like any of it much – there was too much nylon and not enough cotton for my liking. This will be softer and less scratchy but will add a bit of girly detailing.  I’m going to make the shoulder straps and neck finish of white 1″ bias binding, and this will sit along the binding.

23 thoughts on “Sunday Stash

  1. Jule says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous yarn in the first picture! I did some quick calculating – with fabric prices like the ones above I would have completely emptied the shop! The regular price here is around 18 €, which is about 27 $.

    • katechiconi says:

      isn’t it lovely! The normal price was about $10 a ball, and I got them for $6. I have no idea what to make with it, but something will come to me. The trouble is, I still buy yarn with English eyes, and I live in the tropics! No cold weather to wear woollens in…

  2. All lovely choices, especially the first woolly treasures.
    I went to Spotlight today and came out without fabric or yarn; I just bought Pellon and hobby fill. I was so very well behaved that I am wondering if I am coming down with something. 🙂

  3. All lovely… I was yarn shopping myself yesterday, but was nowhere near as frugal as you!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think if I was a skilled knitter it would have been a very different story! One of these days, I’ll have to get myself an idiot’s guide and start from scratch, and then maybe I’ll get some confidence. But I find patterns so hard to follow…

  4. tialys says:

    I am envious of both your stash and your prices. France is not the cheapest place for fabric – even when my local shop has a 50% off sale twice a year it still doesn’t bring it down to those levels

    • katechiconi says:

      I was stunned at how cheap the yarn was. I have an unfortunate prediliction for expensive fabrics, so this is the only way I can indulge – and of course, I have a loyalty card for this store!

  5. Oh the yarn in the first photo is gorgeous!!!! I love all of your purchases but that yarn WOW! It’s a good job I don’t live near that shop 🙂

  6. Kirsten says:

    I love the fluffy pink / purple / yellow / blue yarn! It looks like a good contender for a Woolly Thing 2. I also like the grey and acid yellow fat quarters – they would make a lovely cushion cover.

  7. Linne says:

    Lovely yarn! I’m sort of glad we don’t have Spotlight in Canada . . . but only sort of . . . 🙂 ~ Linne

    • katechiconi says:

      But you have the right climate for gorgeous knitwear. It doesn’t seem sensible! Here we are, in the middle of winter, and it’s about 70F. I have no idea what to do with the wool yarn, but I’ll make something light and lacy out of the fluffy stuff, for shoulders that get chilly in too much aircon.

Leave a Reply

