Hello again, Happiness…

Screen shot 2014-04-23 at 8.26.34 AM Screen shot 2014-04-23 at 8.26.10 AMI ♥ Happiness!  

And I’m not being all teenage and girly here. I’m literally ‘hearting’ Happiness. I faffed about for several hours yesterday, putting off the moment when I actually threaded my

needle and sat down with the quilt in my lap. I always hate starting, because there’s so much still to do. But it’s going surprisingly fast. I’m not even going to think about how many I still have to do, but it’s not going to take too long.

I’ll look at it again once the hearts are done, and work out whether I think outlining the squares too is necessary/would look nice. I like my quilts only lightly quilted, I find them softer and more drapey.

Hopefully I’ll be able to get a good bit more done in the next few days. We’re due some rain, it’ll be a lot cooler, and I won’t mind sitting for hours with a great big quilt in my lap. I held out as long as I could yesterday, but after a while I was so hot I couldn’t stitch nicely, it was bothering me too much even with the aircon going. Life is hard for tropical quilters, eh? As usual, I’m not using a hoop to quilt in, just stretching the quilt over my hand. It seems to work fine.

In between times, I’ll get back to the small list of little projects. Some of you will be getting lawn hankies soon – I’ve started cutting out the squares.  Some will be small and dainty, others will be larger and suitable for a good blow. It depends on the piece of scrap I’m using!

Right, back to work.

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Hello again, Happiness…

  1. anne54 says:

    This is going to look great. I like the understated nature of the hearts. There will be delight in discovering them. How many squares do you have to do? And are you using a template to keep the hearts even?

    • katechiconi says:

      I think it’s about a hundred – I’m trying very hard not to think about how many it is! I’ve made a card template the size of the squares, and cut a heart out of the centre. I use a washable quilt marking pencil to mark the shape, and then quilt over that. I’m hoping the hearts will be enough, but I have a strong sense that I’ll want to outline the squares too…

  2. tialys says:

    You seem to have the same quilting aesthetic as me – lightly does it and stitches you can see without a magnifying glass! I have done quilts using hearts only before and didn’t feel the need to outline anything else and, after you’ve quilted 100 hearts, you might feel the same 🙂

  3. Kirsten says:

    Are you using our pictures to determine how big our noses are and therefore how large our hanky needs to be???? 🙂

Leave a Reply

