Postcards from Barbados #5: turning homewards

Farewell once again to the island.

Screen shot 2014-04-15 at 3.03.01 AM

Next stop South America

Screen shot 2014-04-15 at 3.04.24 AM

Next stop Africa

It’s been fabulous, but now it’s time to go home and resume my normal life.  I’m going to miss my oldest friend, I’m going to miss the beauty of the island, the colour of the sea, the lushness of the gardens – and the cheapness of the rum!  But I’m missing my sewing room, my sewing machine, my own bed and my own garden, which I hope has survived the Category 1 Cyclone Ita which swept over it yesterday.  I hope my fruit trees are still standing and that the worm farm has not blown away.

We’ll be travelling for 3 days.  We leave this afternoon, land in London for half a day (to be spent with my brother, handing over quilts), leave London in the evening for Singapore (duty free shopping at Changi, such hardship!), land in Brisbane at sparrowfart the next day, and have a short wait before our last flight home to Mackay.  I won’t have a chance to check emails or blogs, but I’ll see y’all on Thursday or Friday (depending on whether I can stay awake long enough to read your posts, respond to your comments and do some liking and commenting of my own). The jetlag is going to be fierce…

7 thoughts on “Postcards from Barbados #5: turning homewards

  1. Have a lovely time with your brother – I hope he loves the quilt… can’t see how he won’t. We’ll speak when you have recovered from the jet lag… some time around May I should think!

  2. I hope your jetlag is less fierce than mine has been this week. Sometimes we just breeze through – I hope that is the case for you.

    • katechiconi says:

      Going out there was no jetlag at all – we effectively caught up with ourselves. Coming back hasn’t been too bad. 3 consecutive nights on a plane was pretty toxic, but we were lucky enough to get empty seats to stretch out in from London to Singapore and managed some sleep. Short nap when we got home, and to bed and up at the normal time. I think we’ll be OK, and we have the Easter long weekend to recover in!

  3. My experience with preventing jetlag is this: during the flight back home ( from USA to Europe) I do not drink tea or coffee ( or alcohol) and eat as little as possible. Close my eyes as much as I can, so no watching movies and such. Once landed try to start eating on the “right time” of your destination and do not go to bed! Try to stay awake as long as possible. The last two years I had very little trouble adjusting to the right timezone using this technique. I even landed at a Monday and taught highschool classes on Tuesday! Maybe these tips help you!
    Have a safe trip home!
    Esther

  4. Nanette says:

    Welcome home, Kate, I’ve enjoyed travelling with you. Look forward to the update on the ‘handing over of the quilts’. Hope your garden survived Ita.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’ll hopefully be posting later on today, but I’m waiting to for the camera battery to recharge so I can download the nearly 500 photos onto my Mac. I haven’t forgotten, either, that I owe several people lawn hankies, but I have to wait till tomorrow to collect my sewing machine from the workshop, so I can’t start that job either. The garden is fine, just overgrown and weedy, Ita clobbered it for about 2 hours with 80kph winds, but it has come through unscathed.

Leave a Reply

