The Gardens of Chiconia 12

 

Brugmansia in flower

Varied Eggfly butterfly, male, upper side

Varied Eggfly butterfly, male, upper side

Varied Eggfly butterfly, female, underside

Varied Eggfly butterfly, female, underside

Ground cover, doing its thing, but how pretty.

Ground cover, doing its thing, but how pretty.

Look at the way the raindrops collect at the leaf edges, like lace trim

Look at the way the raindrops collect at the leaf edges, like lace trim

The new leaf unrolling iteself

The new leaf unrolling itself

It’s been a long time since I did a garden post. Here we go.

I was opening the garden door this morning to air the living room and I saw at once that the Brugmansia was in flower. It’s made a special effort to get the flowers out so I can see them before I go away! I’m a bit disconcerted, because I bought a tree I thought was going to have apricot flowers, and it turns out they’re white. I had to swoop on a grass- hopper which was contemplating one of the flowers as breakfast. Two more died to preserve banana leaves. Bring on the winter, when hopefully it will get a little too cool for them.

It’s butterfly season too. The two above were sunning themselves on passionflower leaves, but we saw a million at least on our journey home from Rockhampton yesterday. It’s the time of year when they do their mating flight, and the air over the road was thick with them for kilometres, and there was a carpet of tiny sad corpses on the road where they’d smashed against car windscreens. The species is called Tirumala hamata, the Blue Tiger butterfly. I don’t want to infringe copyright, and I don’t have a photo, but here’s a link to a Google image. I don’t know why they were so numerous over that particular stretch of countryside, but we were driving under them for at least 30 or 40km.

I’m still battling with WordPress’ changes. I don’t know if it’s because I’m on a Mac, but I still can’t put images into the text, they automatically sit above all the words. At least now I’m able to add links, which is an improvement…

Tomorrow the sewing machine goes into hospital for the duration. It’s been a very long time since it had a decent service, and as I’m away, it seemed opportune to get everything fixed up. I miss my needle threader thingy, which is broken. I’d like some of the squeaks and groans silenced. The bobbin race needs a better clean than I can give it without dismantling the whole thing, and I think the needle arm needs realigning. I think this might be a rather expensive service… Meanwhile, I’m carrying on with the embroidery. More on that later.

More soon.

 

 

10 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 12

  1. tialys says:

    Lovely photos of your garden Kate – will it survive O.K. without being watered, etc. while you’re away or have you got somebody coming round?
    I write my posts and insert the photos as I go along because I find it the easiest way. Before I start writing, I go into the media library and upload the photos I think I’m going to use in the post, then they are there ready when I get to the point in the post I want to put the image.(I’m not on a mac though).
    I miss my needle threader too – perhaps I should put my machine in for a service. I’ll have to check what sort of prices they charge round here first – generally nothing is cheap in France (except the wine!)

  2. katechiconi says:

    The lovely neighbours are going to water and take in the mail; we have a reciprocal agreement. When I’m writing my blog, I tend to take and upload the photos, then write the blog, and then decide where I want to put the images. I’ll give inserting as I go a try, but I have established I’m not alone in having trouble with placing the photos. I’m really looking forward to getting away now, and the camera is already safely packed in my case!

  3. dayphoto says:

    Your gardens are stunning! I used to grow Brugs here, but they are much work as I had to take them to my basement every fall so they would not freeze.

    ❤⊱彡 Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

  4. Nanette says:

    Hi Kate, I saw a deep apricot Brugmansia flower lying on the footpath this morning while I was walking the dog……..I couldn’t see the tree anywhere, but thinking of you and your white one, decided I couldn’t leave it there, so it’s now very elegantly gracing my kitchen. They’re a beautiful flower, I hadn’t seen one before and wouldn’t have known what it was if not for your posts. How long until take off?

    • katechiconi says:

      Be careful with the flower – the tree is poisonous in all its parts, so do wash your hands before you handle any food. Does the flower smell sweet? Mine don’t – yet, but I have hopes that they will in time. We’re off tomorrow afternoon; today is ‘get all the last minute stuff done’ day. I’m so excited I can hardly breathe!

  5. Nanette says:

    I didn’t know about it being poisonous, thanks for letting me know. Luckily I always wash my hands after walking the dog, because I did make my breakfast after carrying it home and putting it in water. I’ll be very careful now. If I stick my nose right into it I can smell it’s sweet smell, but it’s not perfuming the air. I thought your trip must be close when you said you’d packed the camera. Will you blog your trip for us to travel along with you?

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ll definitely be taking photos of the memorable stuff and posting if I can. My old laptop’s a bit cranky about uploading photos, so I may have to save all the images till I get home. Fingers crossed! There’s some stunning scenery and fun stuff to show.

  6. Jen Gardener says:

    Nice butterfly shots! All looks great Kate! Hope the grasshoppers don’t take the opportunity to feast while you’re away from the Kate vs grasshopper war.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have the neighbours coming across to water every day, and will leave the pyrethrum bottle on prominent display. But I’ll just have to put up with whatever my neglect produces!

Leave a Reply

