Lawn again…

The blue one. I can't decide which one I prefer.

The blue one. I can’t decide which one I prefer.

Blue binding with a bit of white embroidery detail and tucks instead of gathers on the yoke.

Blue binding with a bit of white embroidery detail and tucks instead of gathers on the yoke.

 

Sorry. I have to try and do something about the puns.

Anyway, here’s the blue one. Blue bias binding this time, and a little embroidery stitch around the neckline and armholes.

I have heaps of nice sized scraps as well as a good metre of each fabric left, so I shall be making a stack of hankies. There will be more than I will ever need, even with a clean one every day, so I’ll be giving some away soon. Hand hemmed, a bit of embroidery… Something to play with when I get back. Any interest out there?

I think I shall have to stop inventing things to make/sew for the rest of the week. I have quite a lot to do, and at this rate I’ll never get Happiness sandwiched and pinned.

So, off to the kitchen to make gingerbread and spaghetti bolognese. The Husband will be home in a couple of hours…

14 thoughts on “Lawn again…

  1. tialys says:

    I would say I am interested but I couldn’t possibly blow my nose on a piece of tana lawn – I just couldn’t!

    • katechiconi says:

      Ah, get on with you. There’s such a thing as treasuring your fabrics too much! I can send you one anyway, and you can set up a little shrine for it, or you can simply enjoy the extreme comfort of blowing your nose on something so soft and nice…

  2. Chas Spain says:

    Such pretty fabric & lovingly crafted smock. (My early efforts with bias binding were under the supervision of a rather overpowering sewing teacher -so just the idea makes me feel tense – this might be a cure.)

    • katechiconi says:

      I just adore bias binding. It has such miraculous properties, stretching beautifully around curves. And it’s not at all hard to use, and very forgiving of minor bloops.

      • Chas Spain says:

        Bias binding does seem like a magical thing – sadly I didn’t grasp its qualities – but certainly appreciate those who can master it.

  3. I think my brain is in meltdown… “gingerbread and spaghetti bolognese,” I thought “now, that’s taking one pot cooking to extremes”. I think I need to go and lie down in a darkened room!

  4. Kirsten says:

    I think I like this one the most. Although both are pretty!

  5. Nanette says:

    I do like the blue, very pretty, but your soft light nighties are perfect for hot steamy nights…..of the tropical kind *) I’d be interested in a lawn hankie….we could do a trade if you like…..anything you’d like?

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t need a trade for a hankie! But send me your address. If I get a chance over the weekend I may turn a few out and I can send you one before I go away – a blue one?

  6. Nanette says:

    it’s fun to trade, seals the connection, you might think of something down the track, I have a few talents, but thanks, in the meantime, I’d love a blue one. I’ll email you.

Leave a Reply

