Isfahan isfa-hinished!

Sorry about that. I dearly love a pun.

Here it is. My Friday Finish.

Isfahan, complete with scrappy binding

Isfahan, complete with scrappy binding

The tufted back and label

The tufted back and label

Now I want to get cracking on the tunic top for my holiday. And after that, sandwich, pin and quilt Happiness. And then I have to cut fabric for my travel hand work. Trouble is, I’m not sure what it is I’m taking! More thought needed on that one. I think the clam-shells work needs more space than I’ll have on the plane. And I’d need to buy fabric to work on Steampunk. not to mention drawing and cutting out templates. The cross stitch project will probably be done by then. Oh, the decisions…

Right, back to work

31 thoughts on “Isfahan isfa-hinished!

  1. Fabulous! How long did it take you?

    • katechiconi says:

      I started idly making hexagons as my in-car work on the trip down to the Brisbane Craft & Quilt show in mid-October last year. I didn’t have a plan for it at that stage, and it got put aside a lot in favour of more exciting work. So 5 months of very intermittent work. When the deadline became apparent earlier this year, I had to pick up the pace a bit!

  2. nsturgill says:

    The dark blue really makes the top! Very nice!

  3. Wooohoooo, it is finished!!! Congratulations on this spectacular quilt!
    Esther

  4. tialys says:

    It’s gorgeous Kate. I wish I could do in-car work but. as I’m generally the driver, it probably wouldn’t be a good idea.

  5. Nanette says:

    The scrappy binding works a treat. Well done, it looks great and snuggly warm.

  6. Lovely, lovely, lovely… perfect for a British summer 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      In that it’s toasty warm, you mean? Pa’s going to love the colours, and I’ll love the fact that he can stay warm when he’s sitting still for long periods. At his age, he doesn’t have a lot of spare flesh on his bones, and will feel the cold, especially after living in Spain for so long.

  7. Jule says:

    Another fantastic finish! The blue border looks great and the multi binding instead of the turquoise was a fine choice. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The blue border is key, the quilt wouldn’t be nearly so interesting without it. I’m glad I didn’t use turquoise, and the scrappy binding let me use up the last bits of fabric.

  8. NikkiM says:

    Wow it looks amazing! Well done!

  9. dayphoto says:

    That looks like a ton of work! Well done!!

    ✿♥ღ Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • katechiconi says:

      I like doing hexagon quilts, I find it soothing and something useful to do with my hands when I’m not busy in the evenings or on long trips. I’m glad it’s done, though!

  10. Just 5 months?! Wow!
    I like the effect of the tufts’ little blue dots in the middle of the hexagons.

  11. wombatquilts says:

    You are a quilting machine Kate… those hexagons are fabulous.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’ve no idea the satisfaction it gives me to have not one but two quilts tucked away in my suitcase to be given away when I reach England! I’m casting about for handwork for the plane now, and suspect it’s going to be embroidery, as it takes up less space than hexies.

  12. […] I’m feeling the need for a handwork project since I finished Isfahan. (https://talltalesfromchiconia.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/isfahan-isfa-hinished) […]

Leave a Reply

