Totally tufted

It’s done. Imagine me screaming quietly…

Another shot where the blue's all wrong, but you get the idea...

Another shot where the blue’s all wrong,
but you get the idea…

Look, it’s not as hideous as it would have been trying to hand or machine quilt through the fleece. And it’s been a valuable lesson in why NOT to use fleece for backing. But it wasn’t fun, as such. Each row of hexagons took half an hour. There’s a fair bit of my DNA in this quilt, in the form of weeny bloodstains where I stabbed myself with the needle. I accept that I’m clumsy, and that the needle is unusually sharp for one of this size, but even so, it started to get boring.

There's a nice loft to the quilt thanks to the batting and fleece.

There’s a nice loft to the quilt thanks
to the batting and fleece.

I rather like the dinky little cross stitches in the centre of the hexies.

I rather like the dinky little cross stitches
in the centre of the hexies.

So, now all I need to do is cut the fabric strips for the binding, sew the strips together, and get cracking. There’s still the adventure of sewing the binding to the quilt because of the fleece, so I think I’m going to reverse my normal process, and sew the binding to the back and hem it down on the front. That way, the fleece is trapped between the binding fabric and the front fabric and won’t catch or creep. I hope. More on that tomorrow.

And that’ll be Isfahan done by the end of the week, and ready to tuck into my suitcase. Not one, but two quilts to hand over to my brother in the UK on our return journey. The Tree of Life for him, and Isfahan for Pa. Trying to get the Broken Bottles quilt for my lovely sister-in-law done too was never on the cards, but it’s close to the top of the queue when I get back, and will be mailed out to her by sea mail.

So now I’m going to soak my aching hands in hot water and ask the ever-obliging Husband for a cup of tea and a home made bickie.

16 thoughts on “Totally tufted

  1. Lovely to see it finished… what a task!

  2. Jen says:

    Well done it’s looking so lovely and the hard work to include the fleece will make a great snuggly result xxx

  3. Nanette says:

    I like the dinky crosses too…job well done. Look forward to seeing it all done with the binding on.

    • katechiconi says:

      Hopefully by the end of tomorrow. And if this rain would briefly stop, I’ll be able to get a decent photo! It’s the end of ex-TC Hadi, come back to haunt us…

  4. Yay!!! Well done! I just know your Dad will love his! 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Just the binding to go, and it’s another quilt finished. That’s three so far this year, and if I can get Happiness finished before we go away, it’ll be three in three months!

  5. tialys says:

    Good luck with that binding!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s gloomy and wet today. Nothing to distract me from the job, which is just as well! I had to unpick a section on the cross stitch job last night amid much cursing, but I’ll get it fixed tomorrow.

  6. dayphoto says:

    WOW! I am in aw of your work! Everyone should delight in their very special gifts from your heart!

    ✿♥ღ Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com
    http://handcraftedbyus.wordpress.com

  7. You must have so much patience! Your hexagons are beautiful 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I wouldn’t normally consider myself patient, except where it comes to sewing. This is a very small quilt compared with my Heirloom quilt (Queen size, all 1″ hexies), and has gone quite fast! Thank you for your kind words, though 😉

  8. You wouldn’t have room in your suitcase for three quilts anyway!

Leave a Reply

